Newsletter: 11 October 2013

Headteacher’s Comments

This morning we held a ‘Joint Assembly’ with the Infant School.  It is always great to hear what the younger children are getting up to and to share our achievements with the Infant School.  The Year 1 and 2 children were very brightly dressed.

Achievements

Well done to Rebecca Crawley, Ella Brancher (Mrs Watson’s Class), Alfie Willis, Connor Dunkin (Mr Davey’s Class), Reggie Pegrum, Reece Valance, Hermione Scott, Niamh Diss (Mrs Raddon’s Class), Rhiannon Margetson, Tomor Troshupa. Ella Dewing (Mrs Sach’s Class), Jack Hammond, Nathan Hustyn (Miss Biggs’s Class), and Thomas Draper (Miss Gibbs’s Class), who all received Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Miss Wood’s class who had the best attendance last week with 97.4%.

Late Gate

The Education Welfare Officer will be at the front entrance over the next few weeks checking on the children who are late.  Lateness unsettles your child and disturbs their learning.  If you child misses 5 minutes each day, they miss 25 minutes of learning each week.  That is over 3 hours of learning (or 3 literacy or 3 maths lessons) this half term.

Visits to Secondary School

Following advice from the Education Welfare Officer, I am unable to authorise any visits to look around any secondary schools in school time.

Break Time Snack

This is a reminder that as a ‘HealthySchool’, children should only be eating fresh fruit or vegetables for their Break Time Snack.

Food Club

As we are hoping to set up an After-School Club, which will run in the Dining Room, we will no longer be able to offer a ‘Food Club’.   I am really sorry if your child was looking forward to joining this club.

Outside PE Kit

Now that the weather is turning colder, please make sure your child has their proper outside PE kit (plain black track suit).  Your child will still be expected to do outside PE every week during the winter months.

Football Result

Well done to our football team who won 5-1 against HighBeechPrimary School. This means we are through to the next round of the Cup.

Netball Result

Well done to the netball team who kept trying despite being out flanked by Thomas Willingale.

Dates for your diary

Fri 25 October                         Harvest Festival Assembly Year 3 (11.15am)

Fri 25 October                         Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tues 5 November                     Return to school (8:45am)

Thurs 7 November                   Miss O’Riordan’s Class starts Swimming

Fri 8 November                        Individual Photographs

Fri 8 November                        Firework Evening

Wed 13 November                  Pupil Progress Meetings (3:30- 6:00pm)

Thurs 13 November                 Pupil Progress Meetings (5:00pm- 7:30pm)

Tues 19 November                   Year 4 Trip to HamptonCourtPalace

Thurs 28 November                 Year 6 Trip to DuxfordImperialWarMuseum

Wed 4 December                     Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Mon 16 December                   Christmas Parties

Tues 17 December                   Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Wed 18 December                   Christmas Dinner

Thurs 19 December                  Christmas Pantomime

Fri 20 December                      Christmas Market (2:00pm)

Fri 20 December                      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 6 January 2014                Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 12 February                     Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Thurs 13 February                    Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 24 February                     Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 26 March                         Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Fri 4 April                                Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tues 22April                            Return to school (8:45am)

Mon 5 May                              May Bank Holiday

Mon 12 May                            Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Tues 13 May                            Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Wed 14 May                            Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Thurs 15 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Fri 16 May                               Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Thurs 22 May                           Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 2 June                              Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 18 June                            Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Fri 27 June                               Transition Day (All Years)

Mon- July- Wed 9 July Year 6 Residential

Wed 9 July                               District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 22 July                             Break up from school (3:15pm)