Newsletter: 12 October 2012

Headteacher’s Comments

Today we held one of our joint assemblies with the Infant School.  It was great to see good example of work that is happening across the two schools.

Achievements

Well done to Neila Ali (Mrs Pughsley’s Class), Melanie Bennett (Mrs Raddon), Sam Richards, Brandon Wood, Amy Edridge, Ellie Speed and Jack Byatt (Miss Wood’s Class).  Well done to Melissa Bruton who received a green card for excellent Literacy homework.

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Westney and Ms Cromwell’s class who had perfect attendance last week and won Percy.

Lucky Plate Competition

Next Tuesday (16 October) the kitchen is running a lucky plate competition.  Anyone who has a school dinner on that day will be entered into prize draw.  The Prize will be 2 weeks free dinners.

School Council Elections

Elections to the School Council take place on Monday.  If your child would like to be considered as a School Councillor they need to write a short speech outlining how they demonstrate they display good characteristics (kind, caring, trustworthy, good citizen, respectful, responsibility).  They will then read this in front of the class and the class will vote.

Dictionaries

I am often asked by parents how they could support their child at home. A number of teachers have suggested that children have access to a dictionary.  This can be used:

  • to check they have copied down their spellings correctly
  • to check the meaning of their spellings
  • to make sure words are spelt correctly when writing their homework
  • to develop their vocabulary.

Choir

Choir starts next Monday (15 October) at 12:40pm.  All children are welcome to join.  They will be learning a song called ‘I wish I knew how’ and then learning songs to be sung during the school Pantomime.  Children will need to go to first dinners, then meet in Mrs Westney’s classroom.

Year 3 Family Fun Time

A leaflet will be going out to Year 3 Parents inviting them to a ‘Family Fun Time’.  It is run once every half term by Ms Cromwell and starts on Monday 22 October 2012.  All the family are welcome so bring Mum, Dad, Brother, Sister, Nan or Granddad.

PTA Meeting

The next PTA meeting is on Monday (15 October) starting at 09:00am.

Dates for your diary

Mon 15 October          PTA meeting (9:00am)

Mon 15 October          School Council Elections

Tues 16 October          Lucky Plate Competition

Mon 22 October          Year Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15pm)

Fri 26 October             Break up from school

Mon 5 November         Return to school

Tues 6 November         Family Photographs

Fri 9 November            Year 6 Remembrance Assembly

Fri 9 November            Fireworks Display

Tues 13 November       Pupil Progress Meetings (3:30-6:30)

Thurs 15 November     Pupil Progress Meetings (5:00-8:00)

Fri 23 November          Stars in their Eyes

Tues 18 December       Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Weds 19 December     Christmas Dinner

Thurs 20 December      Christmas Parties

Thurs 20 December      Break up from school

2013

Mon 7 January             Return to school

Thurs 14 February        Valentines Disco

Thurs 14 February        Break up from school

Mon 25 February         Return to school

Sat 23 March               Easter Raffle and Bingo

Thursday 28 March      Break up from school

Mon 15 April               Return to school

Fri 3 May                     Inflatable Day

Mon 6 May                  May Bank Holiday

Wed 22 May                Whole School Trip (Colchester Zoo) 8:30am-5:00pm

Thurs 23 May               Break up from school

Mon 3 June                  Return to school

Tues 23 July                 Break up from school

Sat 28 September         Autumn Fair