Newsletter: 12 September 2014

Headteacher’s Comments

As I said to the children in assembly this week, life is becoming a bit easier as we all get use to the new routines of a new school year.  Please keep an eye out for flyers and the newsletter as details of the extra-curricular clubs are starting.

Achievements

Well done to Ava Faryadmarni, Kai Page, Ellie Howard, Daisy Everett (Mrs Kaleel’s Class), Ruby Gambrill, India Woods, Lennon Pickard, Louise Harris (Miss Gibbs/Mrs Westney’s Class), Veronica Bergamino (Miss O’Riordan’s Class), Alfie Tillbrook (Miss Biggs’s Class) who received Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Sach’s Class who had the best attendance last week with 100%.

King Harold Road Show

Unfortunately, King Harold has had to cancel the Road Show.  However, they would very much hope you can attend their Open Day at King Harold on Saturday 4 October.  More details will follow soon.

Football Club for Year 3 and 4 Children (Wednesday 17 September 3:15 to 4:15)

The successful Football Club is starting again next Wednesday 17 September 2014.  There are only 16 places available so if your child wants to attend, please let the office know their name and they will added to the list.  The places will be allocated on a first come, first serve basis.

Tag Rugby Club for Year 5 and 6 Children (Thursday, 18 September 3:15 to 4:15)

The Tag Rugby Club will be starting again next Thursday 18 September 2014.  There are only 16 places available so if your child wants to attend, please let the office know their name and they will added to the list.  The places will be allocated on a first come, first serve basis.

Maths Classes for Parents (Wednesday 24 September- 9:30am)

Following the success of previous maths classes, I am pleased to announce that the maths classes will start again on Wednesday 24 September 2014 starting at 9:30 for 5 weeks.  You will be in control of these sessions so come along and ask the tutor what you are looking for and she will plan sessions around this.

Spanish Club (Monday 29 September 8:15am)

Mrs May’s Spanish Club will be on Monday 29 September, Monday 6, 13 and 20 October and Monday 3 and 10 and 17 November.  It starts at 8:15 and will be in the ICT Suite.

 

Talk Homework – ‘The evil scientist’

Children and parents are encouraged to find a quiet time that is free from distractions, in which they will discuss the talk homework questions as a family. It is suggested that the ‘because’ word is used when constructing their responses and points of view.

Who is the evil scientist?

Where has the scientist come from?

What does the scientist want to do?

How would you describe the evil scientist?

When did the scientist arrive?

How do you know that the scientist is evil?                                           ‘The evil scientist’

 

Website Update

This is to inform you that the following updates have been made to the school’s website:

Dates for your diary

Monday 15 September            Mrs Dockar (SENCO)

Tuesday 16 September            Yr 4 trip to London Museum

Monday 22 September            Mrs Dockar (SENCO)

Tuesday 23 September            SEN Support Plan meetings with parents

Thursday 25 September          Yr 6 to Duxford

Monday 29 September            Mrs Dockar (SENCO)

Tuesday 30 September            Yr 5 Living History Workshops in all day

Monday 6 October                  Mrs Dockar (SENCO)

Monday 6 October                  Yr 3 to Verulamium in St Albans

Friday 17 October                   Mrs Dockar (SENCO)

Monday 20 October                Mrs Dockar (SENCO)

Tuesday 21 October                Yr 4 Harvest Festival Assembly (2pm)

Friday 24 October                   Break for Half Term

Monday 3 November              Return to School

Wednesday 19 November      Pupil Progress Meetings (3:15pm)

Thursday 20 November          Pupil Progress Meetings (5:30pm)

Monday 15 December                        Christmas Carol Service (1:30pm)

Friday 19 December               Break up from school (3:15pm)

2015

Monday 5 January                  Return to school (8:45am)

Thursday 12 February             Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 23 February              Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 27 March                     Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 13 April                    Return to school (8:45am)

Thursday 21 May                    Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 1 June                       Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 17 July                         Break up from school (3:15pm)