Newsletter: 13 May 2011

Headteacher’s Comments

What a load of rubbish!  That is what I have been sent this week.  Children from year three have been busy with junk modelling and costumes made out of junk.  Some great work has been produced.

A big thank you to all the children and parents who have supported our recent drive to improve uniform.  The small change has made a huge difference and the children look very smart.  Over the next couple of weeks, please make sure that you replace any of your children’s uniform to comply with the school’s uniform policy.

Achievements

Tuesday saw 6 children from Ms Stafford’s class visit me who had received a green card throughout the day.  Well done to Cole McFadyen, Teddy White, Kasey Lane, Cameron Gilder, Theodora Shiakallis and Sophie Lewis.  Sian Coleman-Adu (Miss Gibbs’s Class) was sent to me because she had completed some beautifully presented work during Mrs Dean’s science lesson.  Sam Richards (Miss Smith’s Class) visited me this morning because he has been ‘knuckling down’ and working hard.

Attendance

We have another class who achieved 100% last week.  Well done Mrs Sach’s class!

Mud

You may have seen me on ‘mud duty’ this week.  Last Friday I received a complaint and a bag full of mud from our neighbour.  Children throughout the day, including after school, have been throwing the mud over the fence and on one occasion hit our neighbour.  I have spoken to all the children in an assembly about this, but I am asking parents with smaller children to make sure they keep away from our neighbour’s fence while they are waiting for brothers and sisters after school.

Coffee Mornings

This is a quick reminder that I will be holding coffee mornings next week for parents to come and hear how I would like to move the school forward.  Please join Ms Cromwell, Mrs Ferris and myself in the school’s dining room at 9:00am.

Assembly

Today we shared an assembly with the Infant’s school.  I know all the children involved really enjoyed themselves and it was great to be introduced to the children who will one day be at our school.  We are intending to repeat the assemblies next term!

Mr Woollcott’s 10km Run

Well I managed to run 10km on Monday night, so I should be able to make it around Manchester on Sunday.  Watch out for me on the TV, I won’t be next to Mo Farrah, but I will be there!  If you would still like to sponsor me then return the slip at the bottom of the page or visit www.justgiving.com/neil-woollcott.

Year 6 SATs

Well, the week is over.  Well done to all the year six children, teachers and learning assistants who have worked so hard this week.  After the tests, the papers were sealed in an envelope and sent to be marked.  We should get the results back by the beginning of July.

Whole School trip

Only half the children in our school have returned their slip and money for school trip.  If you haven’t already done so, please return the slip and money by next Friday.  If you have any questions or have problems with paying, please come and speak with me.

Next Year Term dates

I can now confirm the term dates for next year.  The children return to school on Wednesday 7 September.  The rest of the school dates are below.  (Please note that the summer half term is later due to the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee celebrations).

Dates for your diary

Sun 15 May                             Mr Woollcott’s 10km run

Tues 17 May                            Coffee Morning for Year 3 Parents 9:00am in Dining Room

Wed 18 May                            Coffee Morning for Year 4 Parents 9:00am in Dining Room

Thurs 19 May                           Coffee Morning for Year 5 Parents 9:00am in Dining Room

Fri 20 May                               Coffee Morning for Year 6 Parents 9:00am in Dining Room

Mon 23 May                            Fundraising Fashion Show

Wed 25 May                            Whole School Trip to the ‘Tower of London’ 8:30am to 5:00pm

Fri 27 May                               No School- INSET day

Mon 30 May- Fri 3 June          Half Term

Mon 6 June                              Back to School

Tuesday 21 June                       Open Evening 5-7pm

Fri 24 June                               Transition day (Children meet their new class teacher)

Mon 27 June                            Sports Day (if fine) 9:30am

Fri 1 July                                  Sports day (Reserve) 9:30am

Mon 11 July- Tues 12 July        Year 6 Residential

Tues 19 July                             Year 6 End of Year Production (2pm)

Wed 20 July                             Year 6 End of Year Production (5pm)

Thurs 21 July                            Last day of term

Wed 7 September                    Return to school

Fri 21 October                         Break up for half term

Tues 1 November                     Return to school

Fri 16 December                      Break up from school

Tuesday 3 January                    Return to school

Friday 10 February                   Break up from school

Monday 20 February                Return to school

Fri 30 March                            Break up from school

Mon 16 April                           Return to school

Mon 7 May                              Bank Holiday

Thurs 31 May                           Break up from school

Mon 11 June                            Return to school

Fri 20 July                                Break up from school