Newsletter: 15 July 2011

Headteacher’s Comments

We had a great time on the Year 6 residential this week.  All the children (and adults) returned happy, but tired.  They are now busy preparing for their end of year play.  I look forward to seeing as many parents/ grandparents in the audience on Tuesday afternoon and Wednesday evening.

Achievements

Samantha Burton started the week off well with a green card for being helpful by carrying out tasks without being asked (Mrs Chapman’s Class).  Well done to Jack Hammond (Miss Gordon/ Mrs Tysterman’s Class) who has learnt all his times tables and is now working on his platinum awards.  11 children from Mrs Chapman’s Class came to see me because they had been working hard, producing good work for homework and in their literacy lessons.  Aaron Joseph (Miss Smith’s Class) came to see me because he had written an excellent fable.  Erin Rumens (Mrs Chapman’s Class) got a green card because she was very helpful during Mrs McConnell’s art lesson.  Sam Cosford (Ms Stafford’s Class) got a green card for working hard in his numeracy lessons. Melissa Bruton (Miss Smith’s Class) received a green card for achieving her 2 times tables in platinums and showing real perseverance.  Well done everyone!

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Chapman’s class who won Percy last week.  I know there are 3 children in that class who have 100% attendance this year.  Keep it up!

Dinner Money

Please make sure all outstanding dinner money is paid to the school office.  Last year £314 was not paid.  This is the same as an extra 63 books in the school library or every child not having a Literacy, Maths, Homework and Reading Journal.  So it is really important that all outstanding money is paid.

Art Club and Homework Club

There will be no Art club and Homework Club next week.  Both of these clubs will start again in September.

Reports

Thank you to everyone who has either spoken to me or returned the feedback forms.  Your comments are much appreciated.  There is still time to return your forms.

Cricket Match

Our cricket team played Mrs Chapman’s former school on Monday and I am pleased to announce that we won by 60 runs.  The whole team demonstrated good sportsmanship and the match was enjoyed by the rest of the school.  Well done!

September Holidays

This is a reminder that we return to school on Wednesday 7 September (a day later than the Infants School).  I met with the school’s Educational Welfare Officer (EWO) today and she advised me that I cannot authorise, unless exceptional circumstances, any holidays that overlap with the summer holidays and prevent your child returning to school on 7 September.  Any holidays taken may cause a penalty notice being issued.

Dates for your diary

Mon 18 July                             PTA Meeting 9am

Mon 18 July                            Film Club 3:15- 4:30

Tues 19 July                             Year 6 End of Year Production (2pm)

Wed 20 July                             Year 6 End of Year Production (5pm)

Thurs 21 July                            Last day of term

Wed 7 September                    Return to school

Thurs 8 September                   Meet the Teachers Meeting 7pm

Mon 12 September                  Nominations Open for Parent Governors

Mon 12 September                  Launch Day

Mon 12 September                  Year 3 Coffee Morning

Tues 13 September                  Year 5 Children to visit Gunpowder Mills

Tues 13 September                  Year 4 Coffee Morning

Wed 14 September                  Year 4 Children to visit Waltham Abbey Museum

Wed 14 September                  Year 5 Coffee Morning

Thurs 15 September                 Year 6 Coffee Morning

Friday 16 September                Year 6 to visit Gunpowder Mills

Sat 24 September                     Autumn Fair

Mon 26 September                  Nominations Close for Parent Governors

Thurs 29 September                 Year 3 Harvest Festival 9:30am

Fri 21 October                         Break up for half term

Tues 1 November                     Return to school

Fri 16 December                      Break up from school

Tuesday 3 January 2012           Return to school

Friday 10 February                   Break up from school

Monday 20 February                Return to school

Fri 30 March                            Break up from school

Mon 16 April                           Return to school

Mon 7 May                              Bank Holiday

Thurs 31 May                           Break up from school

Mon 11 June                            Return to school

Fri 20 July 2012                       Break up from school