Newsletter: 16 January 2015

Headteacher’s Comment

A number of parents have been asking for the term dates for September 2015 to July 2016. These should be published next week. Mrs Johnson went on an Attendance Course this week and she has been informed by the Education Welfare Services that from September 2015 the government is changing the goal posts and a child is classed as ‘persistent absentee’ if they miss over 10% of school. This is what 10% looks like every term:

Half -Term 10%
September to October Half 3 ½ Days absence
September to Christmas Holiday 7 Days absence
September to February Half Term 10 days absence
September to Easter Holidays 12 ½ days absence
September to May Half Term 15 ½ Days absence
September to July 19 Days absence

 

Achievements

Well done to Asya Ervan, Jacob Martinelli (Mrs Campbell/Miss Gibbs’s Class), Ellie Howard (Mrs Kaleel’s Class), Kaylee Kilcullen, Eden McCartney, Corey Marks, Madison Bush, Hermione Scott, Jemma Johnson, Fatma Celik (Miss Biggs’s Class) who received Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Mr Davey’s Class who had the best attendance this week, for the third time in a row, with 99.1%.

PTA Meeting (19 January- 9am)

The next PTA Meeting is on Monday (19 January) starting at 9am. All parents welcome.

España Club (19 January at 8:15am)

Spanish Club starts back next Monday morning (19 January) at 8:15am and then on 26 January, 2 February, 9 February, 23 February, 2 March and 9 March. There is no cost to these sessions.

Spelling Bee

Miss Biggs has organised the first Spelling Bee. This afternoon your child would have been sent home with a list of words they need to be able to spell. This comes from the statutory lists in the New English Curriculum. These lists can be found on the school website. The Spelling Bee will be next Friday.

Dates for your diary

Wednesday 21 January                        Governing Body Personnel (6:30pm) and Finance (7:30pm) meetings

Monday 26 January                 Year 4 Trip (Queen Elizabeth Hunting Lodge)

Thursday 12 February             PTA Valentines Disco

Thursday 12 February             Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 23 February               Return to school (8:45am)

Wednesday 4 March                Full Governing Body meeting (7:00pm)

Friday 13 March                      PTA- Mother Day Gifts

Friday 20 March                      PTA- Quiz Night

Friday 27 March                      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 13 April                     Return to school (8:45am)

Wednesday 22 April                Governing Body Curriculum (6:30pm) and Budget (7:30pm) meetings

Wednesday 29 April                Governing Body Personnel (6:30pm) and Finance (7:30pm) meetings

Monday 11 May                      End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Tuesday 12 May                      End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Wednesday 13 May                 End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Thursday 14 May                    End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Friday 15 May                                     End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Thursday 21 May                    Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 1 June                                    Return to school (8:45am)

Tuesday 23 June                      District Sports (Field Events)

Friday 26 June                         Transition Day

Tuesday 30 June                      District Sports (Track Events)

Wednesday 1 July                   Year 6 Residential

Thursday 2 July                                   Year 6 Residential

Friday 3 July                            Year 6 Residential

Wednesday 15 July                 Full Governing Body Meeting

Friday 17 July                          Break up from school (3:15pm)