Newsletter: 17 October 2014

Headteacher’s Comments

There are a number of parents who still insist on stopping by the gate to the Junior School Car Park.  Please stop.  This is not only dangerous for cars travelling along Honey Lane but also for parents and children trying to cross and enter the school.

Achievements

Well done to Joshua Verard (Mrs Kaleel’s Class), Nicole Constantinou (Mrs Davey’s Class), JJ Warner, Ben Rowe, Charlie Pegrum, Ryan Locke, Chloe-Mae Pautsch (Mrs Haslehurst’s Class) who received Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Kaleel’s Class who had the best attendance last week with 98.8%.

Snacks at Break Time

This is a reminder that only fruit and vegetables are allowed to be eaten at Break times.

Harvest Festival (21 October 2pm)

Year 4 has been busy working on their Harvest Festival Assembly to showcase the work we have been doing on our current topic ‘Harvest’.  Family and Friends are invited to watch the assembly at 2pm. We have, in the past, collected food items for a local charity and we would like to continue this tradition, as we have been talking about sharing produce and helping others. If you would like to contribute gifts of tinned food or packets of non-perishable goods, these would be welcome from any child in the school from Monday, 13 October. Thank you

 

Last Day of Term

This is a reminder that next Friday (24 October) is the last day of this half term.  The children finish at 3:15pm.  We return on Monday 3 November starting at 8:45am.

 

Talk Homework

‘The launch of the new, mouth-watering, Tooty Fruity Surprise Easter Egg’

What does it look like?

How does it taste?

What colours are in the Easter Egg?

What is the special surprise inside?

 

Relief Catering Assistant

Our school kitchen is looking for relief catering assistants, who will be called on as and when required.  You will need to be fit and hard-working!  Please contact the school office and ask for Mrs Miller, our School Cook.

Individual School Photographs

All children will be having their individual and Junior School sibling photographs taken on Friday, 7 November 2014.   Should you wish a family photo, you will need to be at the school for 8.30am on that day.

Netball Result

Well done to our netball team who won their fiurst game 5-1 against Waltham Holy Cross Junior School.

            

Maths Challenge

Tricky:

In a 6 x 4 milk crate arrange 18 bottles so that when added vertically or horizontally the number of bottles when added is always even.

 

 

Trickier:

Place 8 Queens on a chessboard so that no Queen is in a position to take another.

 

 

Dates for your diary

Monday 20 October                Mrs Dockar (SENCO)

Tuesday 21 October                Yr 4 Harvest Festival Assembly (2pm)

Friday 24 October                   PTA Halloween Disco

Friday 24 October                   Break for Half Term

Monday 3 November              Return to School

Friday 7 November                 PTA- Fireworks Display

Wednesday 19 November      Pupil Progress Meetings (3:15pm)

Thursday 20 November          Pupil Progress Meetings (5:30pm)

Friday 5 December                 PTA- Leverton’s Got Talent

Monday 15 December                        Christmas Carol Service (1:30pm)

Tuesday 16 December                        Christmas Dinner

Thursday 18 December           PTA Pantomime

Friday 19 December               PTA Christmas Market

Friday 19 December               Break up from school (3:15pm)

2015

Monday 5 January                  Return to school (8:45am)

Thursday 12 February             PTA Valentines Disco

Thursday 12 February             Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 23 February              Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 13 March                     PTA- Mother Day Gifts

Friday 20 March                     PTA- Quiz Night

Friday 27 March                     Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 13 April                    Return to school (8:45am)

Thursday 21 May                    Break up from school (3:15pm)