Newsletter: 19 October 2012

Headteacher’s Comments

The time seems to have flown past this term. We only have one week left at school! I have noticed that some children’s footwear is wearing out.  Please replace these as quickly as you can.  Children in full school uniform (plain black shoes and trainers) generally have a better attitude towards learning and make better progress with their learning.

Achievements

Well done to Jay Robinson, Ennice Dixon, Eden Ramsey and Joshua Gilbert (Miss Bigg’s Class), Taya Hunter (Mrs Sach’s Class) and Rosie Nichols, Archie Hemming, James Warner, Tia Joseph and Demi-Lee Hoffman (Mrs Raddon’s Class).

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Pughsley’s Class who had the best attendance last week.

Year 3 Family Fun Time

A leaflet will be going out to Year 3 Parents inviting them to a ‘Family Fun Time’.  It is run once every half term by Ms Cromwell and starts on Monday 22 October 2012.  All the family are welcome so bring Mum, Dad, Brother, Sister, Nan or Granddad.

Pupil Progress Meetings

Our Pupil Progress Meetings for parents will be spread over two days Wednesday 14 November 2011 (3:30pm-6:00pm) and Thursday 15 November 2011(5:00pm- 7:30pm).  Please note this is differently than previously published.

 

To enable appointments to be arranged, will you please complete the slip overleaf and return it to your child’s class teacher by Friday 9 November.  We will then do our best to give you interviews at appropriate times.

Firework Display

This is a reminder that tickets for our school Firework Display are now on sale.  £2.50 per person.  Please return money in a labelled envelope to the school office.

School Website

The Government now requires schools to have certain information published on their website.  The following information has now been updated:

  • The school’s current End of Key Stage 2 results (Found on homepage)
  • A link to the school’s most recent OFSTED Report (Found on homepage)
  • The school’s Admission Arrangements (Found by clicking on the ‘Key Information’ tab)
  • An outline of the school’s curriculum for each year (Found by clicking on the ‘Key Information’ tab)
  • Information on how the school spends the Pupil Premium (Found by clicking on the ‘Key Information’ tab)

Secondary School Applications

This is a reminder to year 6 parents that they need to complete the application by 31 October 2012.  If you have not received a form you need to contact the School Admissions Team on 0845 603 2200.

Dates for your diary

Mon 22 October          Year 3 Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15pm)

Fri 26 October             Break up from school

Wed 31 October          Year 5 Admissions Date

Mon 5 November         Return to school

Tues 6 November         Individual/Family Photographs

Wed 21 November      Year 4 Docklands Museum

Mon 3 December         Year 3 Trip to Colchester Castle

Fri 9 November            Year 6 Remembrance Assembly

Fri 9 November            Fireworks Display (6:30pm)

Wed 14 November      Pupil Progress Meetings (3:30-6:30)

Thurs 15 November     Pupil Progress Meetings (5:00-8:00)

Fri 16 November        Children in Need (Pyjama Day) £1

Fri 23 November          Stars in their Eyes

Tues 18 December       Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Weds 19 December     Christmas Dinner

Thurs 20 December      Christmas Parties

Thurs 20 December      Break up from school

2013

Mon 7 January             Return to school

Thurs 14 February        Valentines Disco

Thurs 14 February        Break up from school

Mon 25 February         Return to school

Sat 23 March               Easter Raffle and Bingo

Thursday 28 March      Break up from school

Mon 15 April               Return to school

Fri 3 May                     Inflatable Day

Mon 6 May                  May Bank Holiday

Wed 22 May                Whole School Trip (Colchester Zoo) 8:30am-5:00pm

Thurs 23 May               Break up from school

Mon 3 June                  Return to school

Tues 23 July                 Break up from school

Sat 28 September         Autumn Fair

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

” ……………………………………………………………………………………………….…………………

Pupil Progress Meetings

Child’s Name:  ………………………….Class:  ……………………

 

Please tick time preferred:

 

Wednesday 14 November 2012                       Thursday 15 November 2012

 

3.30     –           4.00                                         5:00     –           5.30

4.00     –           4.30                                         5.30     –           6.00

4.30     –           5.00                                         6.00                 6.30

5.00                 5.30                                         6.30     –           7.00

5:30                 6:00                                         7:00                 7:30

 

Names of brother/sister(s) in the Junior School and their class teacher:

 

Child’s Name: ………………….. in ………………………’s class

 

Signed …………………………………… Parent/ Guardian