Newsletter: 22 November 2013

Headteacher’s Comments

A number of parents have come and spoken with members of the office about outdoor PE lessons.  I would like to take this opportunity to remind parents that their child will have two PE lessons a week, one inside and one outside.  During the winter months your child should have a plain black tracksuit so they can keep warm during their outdoor lesson.  It may be better if your child is dressed slightly different on PE days, eg girls wearing trousers instead of a skirt and tights so that they can change quickly.

Achievements

Well done to Adrian Richards (Mrs Watson’s Class), Lilly-Mai Woodward (Miss Kent’s Class), Mia Taylor, Jemma Johnson (Miss O’Riordan’s Class), Darren Ojuade, who all received Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Mr Davey’s class who had the best attendance last week with 99%.

School Telephone System

There may be some disruption to the school’s telephone system on Monday 25th and Tuesday 26th November.  If you need to contact the school urgently during this time and cannot reach the school by telephone, please e-mail on letters@leverton-jun.essex.sch.uk.

Staff Changes

Mrs Raddon will be leaving the school at Christmas to take up a teacher post closer to home.  Mrs Haslehurst, who is a very experienced teacher and who comes highly recommended, will be teaching in Year 5 from January.

 

Today Mrs Gardner will be leaving our school after working here for the past 9 years.  Mrs Taylor will become the Learning Assistant for Mrs Raddon’s class supporting learning across the class, especially for those children on the Special Educational Needs Register.

 

Mrs Hazlewood and Ms Zaghlul will be supporting children on a one-to-one basis in Miss Gibbs and Miss O’Riordan’s Class.

Relief Catering Assistant

The School Kitchen has a vacancy for a Relief Catering Assistant; hours will be ‘as and when’ required.  If you are interested please contact Mrs Miller, the school’s cook, on 01992 715885.

Christmas Carol Service

This is just a reminder that our Christmas Carol Service is on Thursday 19 December starting at 1:30pm and finishes no later than 2:45pm.  Parents and family are welcome to join us in the Abbey Church for the service.  All children will be expected to be collected from the Church after the service.

After School Club- 3:15- 6pm.

The After School Club is now up and running.  Each session costs £8 and includes a snack.  Payment will need to be made in advance.  Please ask the School Office for a registration pack.

 

Christmas fun at Essex Country Parks!

Essex Country parks are set to host a range of wonderful fun-filled Christmas events this December!

 

Santa at Weald/ Christmas Eve at Weald Country Park

Meet Santa in his magical grotto throughout December and Christmas Eve.

7, 8, 14, 15, 21, 22, 23 or 24 December

£6.00 per child

 

Santa’s Celebration Trails at Hadleigh and Thorndon Country Parks

Hadleigh and Thorndon will be hosting Santa Celebration Trail’s – a festive woodland trail ending at Santa’s grotto.

 

Hadleigh: Sunday 15 December

Thorndon: Sunday 8 December

£8 per child (including gift)

 

Christmas Trail at Danbury Country Park

A self-led trail – follow the map, answer the questions and receive a stocking filler prize at the end.

 

Danbury: 23, 24 December

£3 per child

Dates for your diary

Thurs 28 November                Year 6 Trip to Duxford Imperial War Museum

Wed 4 December                    Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Friday, 6 December                Leverton’s Got Talent (evening)

Mon 16 December                  Christmas Parties

Tues 17 December                  Christmas Pantomime *change of date*

Wed 18 December                  Christmas Dinner

Thurs 19 December                 Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm) *change of date*

Fri 20 December                     Christmas Market (2:00pm)

Fri 20 December                     Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 6 January 2014               Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 12 February                    Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Thurs 13 February                   Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 24 February                    Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 26 March                                    Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Fri 4 April                               Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tues 22April                           Return to school (8:45am)

Mon 5 May                             May Bank Holiday

Mon 12 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Tues 13 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Wed 14 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Thurs 15 May                          Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Fri 16 May                              Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Thurs 22 May                          Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 2 June                             Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 18 June                           Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Fri 27 June                              Transition Day (All Years)

Mon- July- Wed 9 July           Year 6 Residential

Wed 9 July                              District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 22 July                            Break up from school (3:15pm)