Newsletter: 23 July 2013

Headteacher’s Comments

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all a lovely summer.  For those not returning in September, I wish you well and look forward to hearing of your future achievements.  For those who are returning, I will look forward to working with you again.

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Westney and Ms Cromwell’s Class who had the best attendance last week.  There were 16 children who had 100% attendance this year.  Well done to Raymond Bull, Billy Burns, Samantha Burton, Lewis Clark, William Dudley, Kyla Gordan, Lucy Hiscott, Demi Hoffman, Jamel Johnson-Trent, Clarence Kelly, Aiden Kohle, Jamie Schooling, Amy Vallance, Lewis Vowles and Hamid Lahreche.

Class % Attendance
Miss Biggs 95.8
Mrs Watson 95.8
Mrs Westney/ Ms Cromwell 95.8
Miss Wood 95.3
Mrs Raddon 94.9
Miss O’Riordan 94.4
Mrs Sach 94.2
Miss Gibbs 93.6

 

First Day of Term (Wednesday 4 September 8:45am)

This is a reminder that our first day of term is Wednesday 4 September starting at 8:45am.

Meet the Teacher Evening (Thursday 5 September 7pm)

Advance notice that our ‘Meet the Teacher’ evening is on Thursday 5 September starting at 7.00pm.  This is your chance to meet your child’s new teacher and hear what your child will be getting up to next year.

 

Charity BBQ

The Miller and Carter are organising charity BBQ on 5 August to raise awareness of cardiac risks in the young.  There will be BBQ, cocktails and a raffle!  Festivities start at 6pm!

 

Essex Libraries Summer Reading Challenge 2013- Sensory Story Times

During the summer holidays Essex Libraries will be hosting a series of sensory story times aimed at children. The story times are open to all and we would particularly welcome children with special needs and their families to come along. The sessions will be interactive and focus on one of two stories and will last approximately 30 minutes. They are free to all. Sessions take place at the following libraries:

 

Harlow Library                      Thursday 15th August 10.30am

Waltham Abbey                     Monday 19th August at 2:00 pm

 

40 Days of Summer – Make everyday an adventure at your Essex Country Park

Car parking on site at one of the Essex Country Parks usually costs a family £2.20 or £3; why not give parents and carers the opportunity to buy a summer special parking ticket for just £10 to cover unlimited parking throughout the full 40 Days of Summer holidays?  Parking tickets will be valid from day of purchase until Monday 2 September 2013 and can be bought online from Monday 1 July 2013 at www.visitparks.co.uk/2013

 

Free Learn to Fish Taster Sessions

Free Learn to Fish Taster Sessions are taking place at Puddledock Farm, Upminster RM14 3NX on 29 and 30 July 2013 and Chigboro Fishery, MaldonCM9 4RE on 6 August 2013.  This is the fifth year the sessions are taking place and are funded by the Environment Agency.

 

Each session lasts 30 minutes and are provided by a qualified angling coach.  All ages and abilities are welcome, although children aged between 3 and 16 must be accompanied by an adult.  The first session begins at 9.30am and will run until 4pm, when the last session begins.  It will be offered on a first come first served basis. Due to popularity, there is no pre-booking system available, but as sessions are short there is seldom a lengthy wait!

 

Further details and upcoming event information can be found on the All About Coarse Angling Facebook page.  For further information: Contact: Nick Watkins on 07704284103

Email: allaboutcoarseangling@yahoo.com

Visit: allaboutcoarseangling@groups.facebook.com

Dates for your Diary

Wed 4 September        Return to school (8:45am)

Thurs 5 September       Meet the Teacher Evening (7.00pm)

Tues 10 September      Dads’ Drinks with Mr Woollcott (7pm Volunteer Pub)

Wed 11 September      SunStreetMuseum  (Year 4)

Wed 18 September      Coffee Morning (9am-Year 3/4 Parents)

Thurs 19 September     Mrs Raddon’s Class starts Swimming

Fri 20 September         Coffee Morning (9am- Year 5/6 Parents)

Sat 28 September         Autumn Fair

Wed 2 October            King Harold Road Show for Year 5 and 6 Parents/ Children (6:00pm)

Wed 16 October          Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Fri 25 October             Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tues 5 November         Return to school (8:45am)

Thurs 7 November       Miss O’Riordan’s Class starts Swimming

Fri 8 November            Individual Photographs

Fri 8 November            Firework Evening

Wed 13 November      Pupil Progress Meetings (3:30- 6:00pm)

Thurs 13 November     Pupil Progress Meetings (5:00pm- 7:30pm)

Wed 4 December         Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Mon 16 December       Christmas Parties

Tues 17 December       Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Wed 18 December       Christmas Dinner

Thurs 19 December      Christmas Pantomime

Fri 20 December          Christmas Market (2:00pm)

Fri 20 December          Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 6 January 2014    Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 12 February         Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Thurs 13 February        Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 24 February         Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 26 March             Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Fri 4 April                    Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tues 22April                Return to school (8:45am)

Mon 5 May                  May Bank Holiday

Mon 12 May                Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Tues 13 May                Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Wed 14 May                Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Thurs 15 May               Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Fri 16 May                   Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Thurs 22 May               Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 2 June                  Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 18 June                Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Fri 27 June                   Transition Day (All Years)

Tues 22 July                 Break up from school (3:15pm)