Newsletter: 25 April 2014

Headteacher’s Comments

Welcome back after the Easter Holiday.  Speaking to the children and parents, everyone seemed to have an enjoyable break.  The sun shining for most of the holiday definitely helped.  Well done to the Year 4 who put on a superb assembly on Wednesday to celebrate St George’s Day.

Achievements

Well done Paige Rood, Joshua Verard, Nathanial Aderemi, Lillie Nelson, Leyla Hime, Scarlett Wilson, Tyrese Fenton  Darcy Kilcullen, Hannah Platts, Tomas Sichel, Kai Gibbs, Ellie Howard, Rhea George (Miss Kent’s Class), Taya Hunter (Mrs Haslehurt’s Class) Lia Morris, Saffron Ward, Harriet Waterlow, Gabriela Musollari, Nilgun Halim, Raymond Bull (Miss O’Riordan’s Class) who received Green Cards this week.

 

Attendance

Well done to Miss O’Riordan’s class who had the best attendance this week with 97.6%.

PTA Meeting (Tues 29 April (9:00am)

The next PTA meeting is on Tuesday 29 April at 9am.

Inflatable Day (Thurs 22 May 3:15pm)

This is a reminder that the PTA are organising another Inflatable Day on Thursday 22 May.  Details will follow next week.  If there are any parents who are able to help out to man an inflatable, please speak to a member of the PTA.

Football Champions

Well done to the Football team who won their 1st games this week 4-1 against Thomas Willingale.  This means that our football team won all their league games and have topped the league this season.

 

Maths Challenge:

Can you solve the Tricky part of the maths challenge?  Squared paper is available from the Maths Challenge board.  Please remember to write your name and class on your entries!

Penta people, the Pentigles, always build their houses from five square rooms on one level – ground level.  The houses can be designed in a variety of shapes, but a room must be joined to at least one other room by one wall. Here is a design drawing for a Penta house, a view from above.

      Here is another one:    

There are many different ways that you can arrange the five rooms.  I wonder how many different Penta homes you can create.  Try to find all possible shapes the Pentigles can build their homes.

 

Dates for your diary

Tues 29 April                          PTA Meeting (9am)

Mon 5 May                             May Bank Holiday

Mon 12 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Tues 13 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Wed 14 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Thurs 15 May                          Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Fri 16 May                              Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Tues 20 May                           WholeSchool Trip (8:15am)

Thurs 22 May                          Inflatable Day (3:15-7pm)

Thurs 22 May                          Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 2 June                             Return to school (8:45am)

Tues 24 June                           Open Evening (5-7pm)

Fri 27 June                              Transition Day (All Years)

Fri 27 June                              Circus (4:30pm and 6:30pm)

Mon- July- Wed 9 July           Year 6 Residential

Wed 9 July                              District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 22 July                            Break up from school (3:15pm)

Wednesday 3 September        Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 24 October                   Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 3 November              Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 19 December               Break up from school (3:15pm)

2015

Monday 5 January                   Return to school (8:45am)

Thursday 12 February             Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 23 February               Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 27 March                      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 13 April                     Return to school (8:45am)

Thursday 21 May                    Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 1 June                                    Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 17 July                          Break up from school (3:15pm)