Newsletter: 26 October 2012

Headteacher’s Comments

I hope you all have an enjoyable half term and your children are safe during Halloween and Fireworks night.  Enjoy your extra hour in bed on Sunday!

Achievements

Well done to Megan Best (Mrs Pughsley’s Class), Archie Hemming and Millie-Jo Lanza (Mrs Raddon’s Class), Jamie Ryan and Alfie Tillbrook (Mrs Sach’s Class), Zeeshan Hussain and Amber Brooks (Miss O’Riodan’s Class), Holly Morris, Nathan Hustyn and Sophie Lewis (Miss Gibbs’s Class), Patryk Mulik (Miss Biggs’s Class)

First Day Back

This is a reminder to parents that we start back on Monday 5 November at 8:45am.

Attendance

Well done to Miss Biggs’s Class who had the best attendance last week with a fantastic 99.1%.  This half term had 113 children with 100% attendance.  Well done!

 

Please make sure that your child is in lining up at 8:45am every morning.

Sports Results

Football Team Cup Match

Leverton 0- St John Fisher 7

 

Football Team League Match

Staples Road 2- Leverton 2

Leverton 2– Thomas Willingale 4

 

Netball A-Team

Leverton 9– Holy Cross 2

Staples Road 2- Leverton 6

 

Netball B-Team

Leverton 3– Holy Cross 4

Pupil Progress Meetings

Our Pupil Progress Meetings for parents will be spread over two days Wednesday 14 November 2011 (3:30pm-6:00pm) and Thursday 15 November 2011(5:00pm- 7:30pm).  Please note this is different than previously published.

 

To enable appointments to be arranged, will you please complete the slip overleaf and return it to your child’s class teacher by Friday 9 November.  We will then do our best to give you interviews at appropriate times.

Firework Display

This is a reminder that tickets for our school Firework Display are now on sale.  £2.50 per person.  Please return money in a labelled envelope to the school office.

Club Español

Mrs May is starting her popular Spanish Club again.  It will start on Monday 12 November at 8:15am.  It is free and open to all years.  It will run on 12, 19 and 26 November and 3 and 10 December.

Mrs Pughsley

Mrs Pughsley is off on maternity leave on Friday.  I am sure you would all like to join me on wishing Mrs Pughsley well and we all look forward to hearing the patter of tiny feet soon.

Bags2Schools

This week the PTA received a cheque for £401 for all the clothes that were collected in July.  A big thank you to everyone who donated clothes.  The next collection is on Wednesday 16 January.

School Photos

Just a reminder that the School Photographer will be coming to school on Tuesday, 6 November to take individual and family photos.  Your child will automatically have a photograph taken with any brothers and or sisters attending The Leverton Junior School.   

Dates for your diary

Fri 26 October               Break up from school

Wed 31 October            Year 5 Admissions Date

Mon 5 November          Return to school

Tues 6 November          Individual/Family Photographs

Mon 12 November       Club Español (8:15am)

Wed 21 November        Year 4 Docklands Museum

Mon 3 December          Year 3 Trip to Colchester Castle

Fri 9 November             Year 6 Remembrance Assembly

Fri 9 November             Fireworks Display (6:30pm)

Wed 14 November        Pupil Progress Meetings (3:30-6:30)

Thurs 15 November       Pupil Progress Meetings (5:00-8:00)

Fri 16 November          Children in Need (Pyjama Day) £1

Fri 23 November           Stars in their Eyes

Tues 18 December        Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Weds 19 December       Christmas Dinner

Thurs 20 December       Christmas Parties

Thurs 20 December       Break up from school

2013

Mon 7 January              Return to school

Wed 16 January          Bags2School Collection

Thurs 14 February         Valentines Disco

Thurs 14 February         Break up from school

Mon 25 February           Return to school

Sat 23 March                Easter Raffle and Bingo

Thursday 28 March       Break up from school

Mon 15 April                 Return to school

Fri 3 May                      Inflatable Day

Mon 6 May                   May Bank Holiday

Wed 22 May                 Whole School Trip (Colchester Zoo) 8:30am-5:00pm

Thurs 23 May               Break up from school

Mon 3 June                   Return to school

Tues 9 July                  Bags2School Collection

Tues 23 July                  Break up from school

Sat 28 September          Autumn Fair

 

 

 

” ……………………………………………………………………………………………….…………………

Pupil Progress Meetings

Child’s Name:  ………………………….Class:  ……………………

 

Please tick time preferred:

Wednesday 14 November 2012              Thursday 15 November 2012

 

3.30      –           4.00                                          5:00      –           5.30

4.00      –           4.30                                          5.30      –           6.00

4.30      –           5.00                                          6.00                  6.30

5.00                  5.30                                          6.30      –           7.00

5:30                  6:00                                          7:00                  7:30

Names of brother/sister(s) in the Junior School and their class teacher:

 

Child’s Name: ………………….. in ………………………’s class

 

Signed …………………………………… Parent/ Guardian