Newsletter: 27 March 2015

Headteacher’s Comments

This week in assembly I spoke to the children about Richard III.  His Skeleton has been reburied this week after being discovered under a car park in Leicester.  We will be experiencing more of Richard III’s legacy when we step inside The Tower of London in May.  What did happen to Richard III’s nephews?  With the Easter holidays at the end of the week, I hope you take the opportunity to inspire your children’s curiosity by visiting museums (many of them free in London) or local places of interest and helping your children discover something new.  I hope you all have an enjoyable two weeks.

Achievements

Well done to Mulkom Kisitu, Ellie Appleton (Mrs Campbell’s Class), Eden McCartney (Miss Biggs Class) who achieved Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Kaleel’s class who had the best attendance this week with 97.5%.

First Day of Term (Monday 13 April- 8:45pm)

This is a reminder that the first day back is Monday 13 April.  Children should be lining up in the school playground at 8:45am.

Years 5 and 6 Field Events Club (Thursday 16 April- 3:13- 4:15pm)

In preparation for District Sports, Mr Waldron will be running a Field Events Club for any child in Years 5/6.

Club Español (Monday 20 April 8:15am)

The dates for Spanish Club next term are Monday 20 and 27 April, Monday 11 May and Mondays 1, 8 and 15 June.  All children welcome.  Spanish Club is in the ICT suite starting at 8:15am.

Postcards

If you are travelling abroad this holiday or know someone who is travelling abroad, please bring a postcard back with you as we need your help to create a maths display.

Termly Booklets

Alongside this newsletter you will have a copy of next term’s booklet informing you what your children will be learning next term and ways that you can support them with this learning.

Breakfast Bar

For a trial period Breakfast Bar will be opening at 8am from 13 April 2015.  This is a reminder that children will only be allowed into the Bar if they are purchasing something.  They need to remain seated at a table whilst at Breakfast Bar and will not be allowed on to the school playground until 8:35am.  This earlier opening is to support working parents and should not be used to encourage children to come to school earlier than they should.

Trainers for PE Lessons

This is a reminder that children should be wearing trainers, rather than plimsolls, for outside PE Lessons.  Trainers provide better support for the foot and also have more grip.  Please make sure that your child has trainers for their outdoor PE lessons after the Easter holidays.

Netball Match

Well done to the Netball Team who won a staggering 17-1 against Alderton and then 5-3 against Hereward.

Football League

Well done to the Football Team who beat Whitebridge Junior School 5-2 on Friday evening.  Just like the Six Nations, the winner of the Football League came down to the last game of the season, which we had to win with a goal difference of 10.  The good news is we beat St John Fisher 5-2.  Unfortunately we did not score enough goals, so we were Runner Ups this year. Well done to all the boys who represented the school this year.

Quiz Night

Thank you to everyone who supported the PTA’s Quiz Night last week.  £256 was raised.

Football Rally

Well done to the Football Team who won the Football Rally on Wednesday for the first time in nine years!

Dates for your diary

Monday 13 April                                 Return to school (8:45am)

Monday 20 April                                 Spanish Club (8:15am)

Wednesday 22 April                            Governing Body Curriculum (6:30pm) and Budget (7:30pm) meetings

Wednesday 29 April                            Governing Body Personnel (6:30pm) and Finance (7:30pm) meetings

Monday 11 May                                  End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Tuesday 12 May                                  End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Wednesday 13 May                             End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Thursday 14 May                                End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Friday 15 May                                                 End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Monday 18 May                                  Whole School Trip to Tower of London

Thursday 21 May                                Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 1 June                                                Return to school (8:45am)

Tuesday 23 June                                  District Sports (Field Events)

Friday 26 June                                     Transition Day

Tuesday 30 June                                  District Sports (Track Events)

Wednesday 1 July                               Year 6 Residential

Thursday 2 July                                               Year 6 Residential

Friday 3 July                                        Year 6 Residential

Wednesday 15 July                             Full Governing Body Meeting

Friday 17 July                                      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tuesday 1 September                          INSET Day

Wednesday 2 September                     INSET Day

Thursday 3 September                         Children return

Friday 23 October                                Break up from School

Monday 2 November                           INSET Day

Tuesday 3 November                          Children return

Friday 18 December                            Break up from school

2016

Monday 4 January                               Children return

Thursday 11 February                         Break up from school

Friday 12 February                              INSET Day

Monday 22 February                           Children return

Thursday 24 March                             Break up from school

Monday 11 April                                 Children return

Thursday 26 May                                Break up from school

Monday 6 June                                                Children return

Wednesday 20 July                             Break up from school