Newsletter: 30 March 2012

Headteacher’s Comments

I can’t believe I have now been headteacher for a year.  I would like to thank all the staff, governors, children and especially you the parents for your support over the past year.  I know I cannot please everyone all the time, but I would like to reassure you that I do have the children’s best interests at heart.  Have a great Easter holiday!

Achievements

I do try to put as many children in the newsletter as possible, but this may not always be the case.  Well done to Tia Pinnington, Cody Cassar and Michael Skinner for consistently getting all their spellings correct.  Well done to Millie Eastwood and Tommy Argent who received a Green Card this week.  Well done to Jessica Smith for her outstanding homework on Saint George.  On Friday I saw a lot of children from Ms Stafford’s class for receiving Green Cards during the week (they know who they are!).  Well done! Natalia Zolowicz received a Green Card for the high standard of her reading journal.  Well done everyone!

Launch Day

This is a reminder that the first two days back we are launching our whole school topic ‘A Diamond Olympics’.  On the Monday children need to come in dressed in Elegant Wear and on Tuesday they can pay £1 to wear sports clothing (all money to go towards Owen Andrew’s dad’s charity).  We have our launch days on the first days back so we can get started on the topic straight away.

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Campbell’s class for the best attendance for a tenth week. 23 children have 100% attendance.  Well done to Mert Ahmet, Tim Akpuda, Malcolm Alfred-Kamara, Elspeth Allen, Freya Blain, Ben Brooks, Raymond Bull, Rhys Dolan, William Dudley, Theo Harris, Shanice Lolomari, Kyri Neophytou, Kerys Page, Reggie Pegrum, Lucy Phillips, Michael Phipps, Melody Ramanah, Evie Rumens, Jake Ryan, Caelie Southam, Connor Southam, Reece Vallance and Thomas Wilkinson.

Times tables Club

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Every Year- Bronze, Silver, Gold Testing

Every Year- Platinum Testing

Year 6- Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum Testing

Every Year- Platinum Testing

Every year- Bronze, Silver, Gold Testing

Every year- Bronze, Silver, Gold Testing

Food Club

Food Club starts for year 4 children on Monday 23 April from 3:15-4:30pm.  Letters have already gone out so please return the slip as soon as possible.

Return to school

We return to school on Monday 16 April at 8:45am.

Uniform

School uniform has become sloppy this past week.  May I remind parents that children should wear plain black shoes or trainers.  With the weather warming up, if your child wants to wear shorts, this is to remind you they should be tailored shorts.

Mobile Phones

This is to remind parents that children should not bring mobile phones into school.

New Parent Classes

  • Do you want to help your child with maths but find you have forgotten how to do some of the basics?
  • Do you find you can get the answers, but can’t explain how or why?
  • Does some of the maths your child learns seem different to the way you did it at school?

If so, come to our 7 week Family Numeracy course starting on 8th May from 1.15pm -3pm where we will go over all these things in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere.  The children will join us for the last half hour of each class to do some fun maths activities and games.  Please speak to Ms Cromwell to find out more details.

Dates for your diary

Mon 16 April               Return to school

Thurs 19 April              Lucky Plate Competition

Mon 23 April               Food club for Year 4 children (3:13-4:30pm)

Mon 23 April               Year 4 St George’s Day Assembly

Mon 23 April               Shrek Theatre Trip

Tues 24 April               Special Lunch- Cuba

Tues 1 May                  Whole School Trip to Windsor Castle

Mon 7 May                  Bank Holiday

Tues  8 May                 Numeracy Parent Class starts

Tues 15 May                Special Lunch- USA

Thurs 31 May               Break up from school

Thurs 31 May               Special lunch- Street Party

Thurs 31 May               Inflatable Fun Day/ Evening

Mon 11 June                Return to school

Tues 12 June                Special Lunch- Norway

Thurs 28 June               Open Evening 5-7pm

Fri 29 June                   West Essex Olympics

Tues 3 July                   Sports Day 9:30am

Tues 3 July                   Special Lunch- Great Britain

Wed 4 July                   District Sports (Field Events)

Thurs 5 July                  Transition Day

Fri 6 July                      Sports Day 9:30am (Reserve)

Sat 7 July                     Olympic Torch Relay

Mon 9 July                   Bag2Bag sacks to be handed in

Wed 11 July                 District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 17 July                 Year 6 Play 2.00pm

Wed 18 July                 Year 6 Play 5.00pm

Fri 20 July                    Break up from school

Weds 5 September       Return to school

Sat 15 September         Autumn Fair

Fri 26 October             Break up from school

Mon 5 November         Return to school

Fri 9 November            Fireworks Display

Tues 18 December       Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Thurs 20 December      Break up from school

Mon 7 January2013     Return to school

Thurs 14 February        Break up from school

Mon 25 February         Return to school