Newsletter: 30 September 2011

Headteacher’s Comments

Last Saturday was certainly a day to remember.  Up at 4 o’clock in the morning baking cakes, at school at 8am setting up and then spent 4 hours in the stocks getting wet before clearing up.  Thank you to everyone who supported our first Autumn Fair and helped us raise over £830.  Very big thanks to all the members of the PTA who quickly organised the Fair and the parents who helped on the day.  Can I remind parents who took pictures of me in the stocks that this is a clear breach of my human rights and all evidence should be destroyed!

Achievements

Well done to Cole McFadyen, Ben McFadden, Alisa Cakirgoz, Yildiz Halim, Charlie Santagata, Teddy White and Alex Antoniou (Miss Rogers’s Class) who came to me during Monday with Green Cards.  Mia Taylor and Paris Colgate (Ms Stafford’s Class) both received Green cards on Tuesday.  Victoria Fry (Miss Rogers’s Class) received a Green Card on Tuesday.

Attendance

Miss Rogers’s Class won best attendance last week with a near-perfect attendance of 99.2%.  Well done!

Acorn House- Tues 4 October

Acorn House supports families with sick children receiving treatment at Addenbrooke’s Hospital.  They provide a ‘home from home’ for parents of children in intensive care.  We will be raising money for Acorn House by laying our £1 coins in the shape of our school logo next Tuesday (4 October).  Please support this worthwhile charity by sending £1 coin in with your child next Tuesday.

Harvest Festival- Thurs 6 October at 11.15am

Please note a change of time.  This year we are returning to a more traditional Harvest Festival and are asking you to provide gifts of food that will be distributed to the Salvation Army in Waltham Abbey.  They then give food parcels to local families who are experiencing temporary difficulties.  Please provide tinned or dried food only:

 

 

Tinned meat and fish

Baked Beans

Tinned or instant potatoes

Tinned vegetables

Tinned or packet soup

Tinned fruit

Tinned Rice

Packet of pasta

Packet of rice

Pasta Sauce

Boxes of long life milk

Packet of cereal

Biscuits

Tea/ Coffee/ Sugar

 

 

Please ask your child to hand in the goods to their class teacher, any time from now to 6 October.

School Governors

We received 5 nominations for 5 places on the school’s Governing Body so there is no need for an election.  Congratulations to Joanne Ashley, Sue Bruton, Natasha Cosford, Angie Schooling and Julie Square who join Steve Gilbert as parent governors.

PTA Meeting

There will be a PTA meeting on Monday at 9:00am.

Times Tables Booklet

Mrs Eastwood will be selling Times Table Practice Manuals during Times Table Club from next week.  The manuals have all the times tables in as well as samples of the questions asked during the Silver and Gold testing.  The cost of the manuals is £1.50.

Dates for your diary

Mon 3 October                                    PTA Meeting (9am)

Tues 4 October                         Acorn House Charity Event (£1)

Tues 4 October                         IEP Meetings

Thurs 6 October                      Year 3 Harvest Festival 11.15am

Fri 21 October                           Break up for half term

Tues 1 November                      Return to school

Wed 2 November                      Year 3 Trip to Colchester Castle

Tues 8 November                      Pupil Progress Meetings

Thurs 10 November                   Pupil Progress Meetings

Fri 11 November                       Year 6 Remembrance Assembly

Fri 25 November                       Tag Rugby Tournament

Fri 25 November                       Stars in their Eyes

Tues 13 December                    Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Wed 14 December                    Christmas Dinner

Fri 16 December                       Break up from school

Tues 3 January 2012                Return to school

Fri 10 February                        Cross Country Competition

Fri 10 February                        Break up from school

Mon 20 February                     Return to school

Tues 13 March             IEP Meetings

Tues 13 March             Pupil Progress Meetings

Thurs 15 March                        Pupil Progress Meetings

Fri 30 March                            Break up from school

Mon 16 April                           Return to school

Mon 7 May                              Bank Holiday

Thurs 31 May                           Break up from school

Mon 11 June                            Return to school

Thurs 28 June                           Open Evening 5-7pm

Fri 29 June                               West Essex Olympics

Tues 3 July                               Sports Day 9:30am

Thurs 5 July                              Transition Day

Fri 6 July                                  Sports Day 9:30am (Reserve)

Mon 9 July                               District Sports (Field Events)

Wed 11 July                             District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 17 July                             Year 6 Play 2.00pm

Wed 18 July                             Year 6 Play 5.00pm

Fri 20 July 2012                       Break up from school