Newsletter: 6 February 2015

Achievements

Well done to Ruby Ryan (Mrs Panagiotidou), Ralfie Paris (Mrs Kaleel’s Class), Mika Cox-Cunningham (Mr Davey’s Class), Archie Hemming, Kristal Savery, Samaya Kaleel, Natalie Lewis, Megan Best (Mrs Sach’s Class) Demi Hoffman (Mrs Haslehurst’s Class), Mia Opinel, Niamh Diss (Miss Biggs’s Class), Albert Paris (Miss O’Riordan’s Class) who received Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Haslehurst’s Class who had the best attendance this week with 99%.

Last Day of Term (12 February- 3:15pm)

This is a reminder that the last day of term is next Thursday (12 February) at 3:15pm.

Whole School Trip (Monday 18 May 8:30am)

Following the success of last year’s trip, I am pleased to announce the details of this year’s whole school trip to Tower of London.

 

Date:                      Monday 18 May 201 5

Time                       8:30am to 5:00pm

Cost                        £10

Clothing Full school uniform (coat if cold and damp/sunhat if hot)

Food                       Packed lunch brought in school bag

 

The total cost of the trip is £3,962 (£15.96 per child). We have managed to secure some funding. Therefore, we are asking for every child to pay £10 towards the trip. If you have a problem with paying this, please arrange to speak to me.

 

This £10 includes the cost of the coach, entry to Tower of London and a workshop for each class led by a member of staff at the Tower of London. You may pay in one instalment of £10 or two instalments of £5.

Mrs Haslehurst

Unfortunately, Mrs Haslehurst’s recovery is taking longer than originally thought. Therefore, Mrs Haslehurst has decided to leave the school on 12 February 2015. I am sure you would join me in wishing Mrs Haslehurst a full recovery and best wishes for the future.

Parent Readers

We are always looking for parents who can come into school and listen to children read. If you can spare 10 minutes or more, please complete the reply slip at the end of the letter.

 

Year 6 Drop-In Clinic

If any of the Year 6 children would like to have extra support with a maths topic, they are invited to see Miss Gibbs and Mrs Campbell during break times for a five minute consultation. So far, several children have asked for help and they are to be congratulated for making this effort. If your Year 6 child says that they aren’t absolutely sure of something in maths, please encourage them to make use of this free support!

David Walliams

Well done to Samaya Kaleel who was chosen by Miss O’Riordan and Miss Biggs to be our school entry in the Book Day Competition with:

There was a brilliant author DW

Who wrote fabulous books, it’s true

His books were crazy

Billionaire Boy was lazy

And the Demon Dentist so evil, who knew?

 

This excellent author DW

Offered to visit our school too

In a helicopter he’d come

With all the books he’d done

All the children would cheer and queue

Governor News

The three sub-committees have already met this term:  Curriculum, Personnel and Finance.  A specialist consultant paid what is called a Blink Visit for a day to look at Maths teaching and learning.  The Chair of Governors attended and reported back to the Headteacher and the Maths Leader in order to monitor future progress in that subject.  Next week there will be one of the regular half termly Joint Liaison meetings where representatives of The Nursery and Infant and Junior Schools’ Governing Bodies meet to discuss policies and matters of common interest.

Miggie Hillson

Chair of Governors

Dates for your diary

Thursday 12 February                        PTA Valentines Disco

Thursday 12 February                        Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 23 February                         Return to school (8:45am)

Wednesday 4 March                          Full Governing Body meeting (7:00pm)

Friday 13 March                                  PTA- Mother Day Gifts

Friday 20 March                                  PTA- Quiz Night

Friday 27 March                                  Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 13 April                                 Return to school (8:45am)

Wednesday 22 April                           Governing Body Curriculum (6:30pm) and Budget (7:30pm) meetings

Wednesday 29 April                           Governing Body Personnel (6:30pm) and Finance (7:30pm) meetings

Monday 11 May                                 End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Tuesday 12 May                                 End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Wednesday 13 May                           End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Thursday 14 May                                               End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Friday 15 May                                     End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Monday 18 May                                 Whole School Trip to Tower of London

Thursday 21 May                                               Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 1 June                                    Return to school (8:45am)

Tuesday 23 June                                 District Sports (Field Events)

Friday 26 June                                     Transition Day

Tuesday 30 June                                 District Sports (Track Events)

Wednesday 1 July                               Year 6 Residential

Thursday 2 July                                   Year 6 Residential

Friday 3 July                                         Year 6 Residential

Wednesday 15 July                             Full Governing Body Meeting

Friday 17 July                                      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tuesday 1 September                         INSET Day

Wednesday 2 September                   INSET Day

Thursday 3 September                       Children return

Friday 23 October                               Break up from School

Monday 2 November                         INSET Day

Tuesday 3 November                         Children return

Friday 18 December                           Break up from school

 

2016

Monday 4 January                             Children return

Thursday 11 February                        Break up from school

Friday 12 February                             INSET Day

Monday 22 February                         Children return

Thursday 24 March                            Break up from school

Monday 11 April                                 Children return

Thursday 26 May                                               Break up from school

Monday 6 June                                    Children return

Wednesday 20 July                             Break up from school

Thursday 21 July                                 Holiday (replacing 1 September)

Friday 22 July                                      Holiday (replacing 1 September)

 

“————————————————————————————————————————————————————–


Parent Readers

I can hear children read.

 

Name ________________________

 

Time(s) I am available _______________________

 

Contact details ___________________________

Tower of London

I enclose £10 for the cost of the trip to Tower of London 0

 

I enclose the first instalment of £5 towards the cost of the trip to Tower of London 0

 

Child’s Name _______________________________

 

 

Date: