Newsletter: 7 October 2011

Headteacher’s Comments

Well done to the year three children and teachers who put on a wonderful Harvest Festival.  Thank you for all the contributions of food.  These will now be passed on to the Salvation Army in Waltham Abbey to distribute to families in the local area.

 

Please keep an eye on the ‘Dates for Diary’ section as some dates/ times do change, especially when events are organised by outside agencies.

Achievements

Well done to Connie Mills (Miss Biggs’s Class) who showed a caring attitude in class and Gabriela Musollari (Ms Stafford’s Class) who worked well in class.  Well done DeAndre Johnson-Trent, Ben McFadden (twice) and Sam Cosford (Miss Rogers’s Class) who worked extremely hard in Guided Reading.  Amber Brooks and Victoria Fry (Miss Rogers’s Class) were sent to me with Green Cards for showing a caring attitude to a year 3 pupil in the playground. Rhys Dolan (Mrs Chapman’s Class) came to me with a Green Card because he did extra homework, finding out about the Meridian Line.  Liam Nelson (Mrs Chapman’s Class) received a Green card for excellent work in Literacy and Numeracy.  Zeeshan Hussain (Mrs Chapman’s Class) received his Green Card for showing a caring attitude to another pupil.  Erin Rumens and Daisy Jones received Green Cards from Miss Gibbs and Archie Peck, Vincenzo Bergamino and Joe Savage received Green Cards from Miss Rogers.  Melody Ramanah (Mrs Campbell’s Class) achieved a Green Card for preparing a booklet for the Playleaders in her own time.  Well done everyone!

Attendance

Mrs Campbell’s Class won best attendance last week with a near-perfect attendance of 99.6%.  Well done!  I would like to remind parents who are applying for holiday leave due to restriction of leave by their employers, that a letter from their employer must accompany the application.  Otherwise the application will be declined and a penalty notice may be issued by Essex County Council.

Acorn House

A big thank you to all the children who brought their pound coins in on Tuesday.  A fantastic £120 was raised for Acorn House.

Bonfire Disco

The PTA is organising a Bonfire Disco on Friday 4 November between 6pm and 8pm.  The cost is £2.50 to include a hot dog and drink.  Strips of raffle tickets are on sale for 50p during the disco.  Please return the money in a clearly labelled envelope.

RNLI Reindeer Run

As many of you know I have taken up running.  The Lifeboats Charity (RNLI) organise a run every year in Lea Valley Park (entrance opposite McDonalds, Waltham Abbey).  There are 10k (age 15+) and 5k (age 10+) runs to choose from.  For those who want to join in the fun but don’t want to run, there’s a 2k Santa Saunter (open to all ages).  Every entrant will be given a free pair of reindeer antlers (complete with red flashing nose!) and free t-shirt.  A hot drink and mince pie await you at the finish, plus there’ll be medals for runners, certificates for walkers and prizes for best fancy dress!  For those who would like to join me on Sunday 20 November, please register by visiting the website at:

http://www.rnli.org.uk/how_to_support_us/events/reindeer-run/2011/venue-information/river-lee-country-park

PTA Meeting

The next PTA meeting will be on Monday 17th October at 9:30am.  Any parents are welcome.

Dates for your diary

Mon 17 October                      PTA Meeting (9:30am)

Fri 21 October                           Break up for half term

Tues 1 November                      Return to school

Wed 2 November                      Year 3 Trip to Colchester Castle

Fri 4 November                                    PTA Bonfire Disco (6-8pm)

Tues 8 November                      Pupil Progress Meetings

Thurs 10 November                   Pupil Progress Meetings

Fri 11 November                       Year 6 Remembrance Assembly

Sun 20 November                    RNLI Reindeer Run

Fri 25 November                       Tag Rugby Tournament

Fri 25 November                       Stars in their Eyes

Tues 13 December                    Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Wed 14 December                    Christmas Dinner

Fri 16 December                       Break up from school

Tues 3 January 2012                Return to school

Fri 10 February                        Cross Country Competition

Fri 10 February                        Break up from school

Mon 20 February                     Return to school

Tues 13 March             IEP Meetings

Tues 13 March             Pupil Progress Meetings

Thurs 15 March                        Pupil Progress Meetings

Fri 30 March                            Break up from school

Mon 16 April                           Return to school

Mon 7 May                              Bank Holiday

Thurs 31 May                           Break up from school

Mon 11 June                            Return to school

Thurs 28 June                           Open Evening 5-7pm

Fri 29 June                               West Essex Olympics

Tues 3 July                               Sports Day 9:30am

Thurs 5 July                              Transition Day

Fri 6 July                                  Sports Day 9:30am (Reserve)

Wed 4 July                               District Sports (Field Events)

Wed 11 July                             District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 17 July                             Year 6 Play 2.00pm

Wed 18 July                             Year 6 Play 5.00pm

Fri 20 July 2012                       Break up from school