Newsletter: 8 February 2013

Headteacher’s Comments

We almost filled the theatre at last night’s performance of The Lion King!  161 parents and children had a thoroughly enjoyable trip.  The show was fantastic!

Next Year’s Term Dates

The Governing Body have agreed the following dates for next year (2013-2014):

                                    Return to school                       Wednesday 4 September 2013

                                    Break up from school               Friday 25 October 2013

                                    Return to school                       Tuesday 5 November 2013

                                    Break up from school               Friday 20 December 2013

                                    Return to school                       Monday 6 January 2014

                                    Break up from school               Thursday 13 February 2014

                                    Return to school                       Monday 24 September 2014

                                    Break up from school               Friday 4 April 2014

                                    Return to school                       Tuesday 22April 2014

                                    May Bank Holiday                   Monday 5 May 2014

Break up from school               Thursday 22 May 2014

                                    Return to school                       Monday 2 June 2014

                                    Break up from school               Tuesday 22 July 2014

Achievements

Well done to Natalie Lewis (Mrs Raddon’s Class), Molly-Rose Fells, Migle Jociute, Billy Burns, Brandan Wood, Kerys Page, Keely Harmer, Connie Mills, Melisa Bruton, William Dudley, Freya Blain, Mert Ahmet (Miss Wood’s Class), Erin Rumens, Daisy Jones and Rebecca Hamilton (Miss Biggs’ Class), Aaron Jones (Mrs Westney’s Class) who received a Green Card this week.

Sainsbury Vouchers

Please start collecting the school vouchers and do encourage friends and relatives to collect them too.  Your children can hand them to their class teacher.

Attendance

Well done to Miss Wood’s class who had the best attendance last week with a near perfect 99%.

World Book Day

We are celebrating World Book Day on Friday 8 March.  We would like all children to come dressed up as their favourite book character.

Inappropriate Language

A number of teachers have again spoken to me about the use of inappropriate language by children, for example swearing and use of sexual terms.  Please be careful what internet websites, television programmes, DVDs and computer games your child is exposed to.  Also, if you do hear your child repeating anything inappropriate, please reinforce that it is unacceptable.  I would appreciate your support in this matter.

Dates for your Diary

Thurs 14 February        Valentines Disco Year 3 and 4 (3:30-5:00pm)

Thurs 14 February        Valentines Disco Year 5 and 6 (5:30-7:00pm)

Thurs 14 February        Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 25 February         Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 8 March            World Book Day

Tues 19 March Pupil Progress Meetings (3:30- 6:00)

Thurs 21 March            Pupil Progress Meetings (5:00- 7:30)

Sat 23 March               Easter Raffle and Bingo

Thursday 28 March      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 15 April               Return to school (8:45am)

Fri 3 May                     Inflatable Day

Mon 6 May                  May Bank Holiday (No School)

Wed 22 May                Whole School Trip (Colchester Zoo) 8:30am-5:00pm

Thurs 23 May               Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 3 June                  Return to school (8:45am)

Tues 9 July                   Bags2School Collection

Tues 23 July                 Break up from school (3:15pm)

Sat 28 September         Autumn Fair