Newsletter: 8 July 2011

Headteacher’s Comments

The last few weeks of the summer term are always very busy.  The Year 5 classes visited St Albans this week.  I am told many people went up to Miss Gibbs and Miss Biggs to comment on how well the children behaved.  Well done.  Also, I have been informed the children had a play on an ‘outside gym’.  The children all came back and raved about it so I think the PTA have some serious money to make.  Next week the year 6 pupils are off on their residential.  Fingers cross for fine weather!

Achievements

Well done to Sophie Lewis (Ms Stafford’s Class) who has now learnt all her times tables and has become a Times Table Tester!  Well done to Niklas Heinen (Mrs Sach’s Class) who competed last weekend in his first ever 5km run, crossing the line in 15th place with a fantastic time of 36 minutes and 20 Seconds.  Willow Woods (Miss Smith’s Class) was sent to me for gaining 5 times table certificates all in my lunchtime!  Aiden Mead (Miss Gordon/ Mrs Tysterman’s class) received a green card for working extremely hard in his RE lesson.  Sonny Brown (Miss Biggs’s Class) was sent to me because he wrote a beautiful description in literacy.  Charlie Spillett (Mrs Chapman’s Class) got a green card for making sure he has his Reading Precision book in every day this year.  Well done everyone!

District Sports

Well done to all the children who participated in District Sports.  The children were brilliantly behaved and put 100% effort in.  We came away with four trophies.  Casey Lunn won the girl’s ball throw, Chino Akpuda won the girl’s standing triple jump, the girls were overall winners of the field events and the girls were runner ups for the overall events.

Attendance

Well done to Miss Gibbs’s Class who had the best attendance last week and will be ‘jumping the queue’ this week.

Whole School Photograph

I have now ordered the photographs of the whole school outside the Tower of London.  As soon as they arrive, they will be sent home.

Reports

Your child will come home tonight with their reports.  In the reports your child’s class teacher will inform you about your child’s progress.  Progress is based upon your child’s attainment at the end of Year 2.  The table below shows where your child should be based upon their attainment at the end of Year 2.

 

Key Stage One Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6
W 1C 1A 2B 2A
1 2C 2A 3B 3A
2C 2A 3B 4C 4B
2B 3C 3A 4B 4A
2A 3B 4C 4A 5C
3C 3A 4B 5C 5B

 

Mrs Barron

Last Friday I had the pleasure of attending the graduation ceremony for the trainee teachers we have each term at our school.  During the ceremony Mrs Barron was awarded a Masters Degree.  I would like to congratulate Mrs Barron on behalf of everyone at our school on her achievement.

PTA

There is a PTA meeting on Monday 18 July at 9am to discuss the Autumn Fair.  The meeting is open to any parents/ carers.

Sports Kit

We are trying to get sponsorship to purchase some new sports kit so our children look the part when they compete against other schools.  If you work for a company who would be interested in sponsoring the kit, please return the slip below and I will be in contact with you.

Dates for your diary

Mon 11 July- Tues 12 July        Year 6 Residential

Mon 18 July                            PTA Meeting 9am

Tues 19 July                             Year 6 End of Year Production (2pm)

Wed 20 July                             Year 6 End of Year Production (5pm)

Thurs 21 July                            Last day of term

Wed 7 September                    Return to school

Thurs 8 September                   Meet the Teachers Meeting 7pm

Mon 12 September                  Nominations Open for Parent Governors

Mon 12 September                  Launch Day

Mon 12 September                  Year 3 Coffee Morning

Tues 13 September                  Year 5 Children to visit Gunpowder Mills

Tues 13 September                  Year 4 Coffee Morning

Wed 14 September                  Year 4 Children to visit Waltham Abbey Museum

Wed 14 September                  Year 5 Coffee Morning

Thurs 15 September                 Year 6 Coffee Morning

Friday 16 September                Year 6 to visit Gunpowder Mills

Sat 24 September                     Autumn Fair

Mon 26 September                  Nominations Close for Parent Governors

Thurs 29 September                 Year 3 Harvest Festival 9:30am

Fri 21 October                         Break up for half term

Tues 1 November                     Return to school

Fri 16 December                      Break up from school

Tuesday 3 January 2012           Return to school

Friday 10 February                   Break up from school

Monday 20 February                Return to school

Fri 30 March                            Break up from school

Mon 16 April                           Return to school

Mon 7 May                              Bank Holiday

Thurs 31 May                           Break up from school

Mon 11 June                            Return to school

Fri 20 July 2012                       Break up from school

 

Sports Kit Sponsorship

 

I know a company who would like be interested in sponsoring the school’s PE kit.

 

Name _________________            Child’s Name   ____________________