Newsletter: 1 July 2011

Headteacher’s Comments

During the Coffee mornings held last term, parents said they would appreciate information on the topic their child was about to study.  At the end of the Induction Day you should have received a leaflet about next term’s topic, including dates for launch day, any clothes they need to dress up in and trips taking place during the term.  I have added these dates to the ‘Dates for Diary’ section below.  I hope you find these useful.

Achievements

Well done to Mert Ahmed and Molly-Rose Fells (Miss Smith’s Class) who have learnt their times tables and have become times tables testers.  Cameron Gilder (Ms Stafford’s Class) was sent to me on Monday for working hard and completing their work.  Milan Sharman (Miss Gordon/ Mrs Tysterman’s Class) received a green card for learning her times tables and reaching her platinums.  Well done to everyone!

Sports Day

Thank you to everyone who stayed and watched our sports day.  The weather was great and all the children enjoyed the sports activities.  I have had some complaints about the lack of a ‘Teachers’ Race’.  I will make sure there will be one next year.  Over the summer I will get in some practice and go out shopping to buy a lycra running suit.  The winners of the races are as follows.

 

 SprintRelayHurdlesMale RelativeFemale RelativeTeachers
Year 3Amber Brooks

Kasey Lane

Amy Vallance

Eden Ramsey

Keion Smith

Louis Dunkin

 

Caitlin Stergess-Hall

Rhys Dolan

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mason Lunn

 

 

 

 

 

Ms Nicholls

Cancelled due to poor running conditions
Year 4Rebecca Hamilton

Jay Robinson

Kanya Coleman-Adu

Jack Munns-Watson

Christopher Essl (tie)

Year 5Elspeth Allen

Theo Harris

Thomas Miles

Kane Crowley

Danielle Miller

Lauren Wrighht

Sian Coleman-Adu

Michael Skinner

Year 6Chino Akpuda

Joshua Aderemi

Casey Lunn

Niklas Heinen

Book Sale

The book sale is definitely on this week!  Mrs Pentelow will be in Breakfast Club selling the books from 8:15am each morning.

Inflatable Fun Run

Mrs Pentelow has organised an Inflatable Fun Run for the Year Six BBQ.  Children in other years will have an opportunity to have 20 minutes on the Inflatable Fun Run during the afternoon of Friday 8 July.  If your child would like to have a go, they need to bring in £1.

District Sports

Next week over 70 children will be representing our school at District Sports.  Good luck to all of you!

Vouchers

Thank you to everyone who brought in vouchers.  We managed to collect 29,979 Tesco vouchers and 5,440 Sainsbury’s Vouchers.  They have now been sent off.  A big thank you to customers and staff of the Volunteer Pub who helped make this large number possible.  If you ever pop in to the Volunteer, please say thank you to the staff!

Attendance

Well done to Ms Stafford’s class who had 100% attendance last week and won Percy.

PTA

Well done to the PTA who raised over £190 on Sports Days.  A lot of parents have told me they appreciated the refreshments.  During the hot weather, the PTA will be selling ice poles and drinks after school on a Friday.

Dates for your diary

Mon 4- Thurs 7 July                Book Sale 8:15am

Mon 4 July                               District Sports (Field Events)

Thurs 7 July                              District Sports (Track Events)

Fri 8 July                                 Inflatable Fun Run (1.30-3.15)

Fri 8 July                                  Year 6 BBQ

Mon 11 July- Tues 12 July        Year 6 Residential

Tues 19 July                             Year 6 End of Year Production (2pm)

Wed 20 July                             Year 6 End of Year Production (5pm)

Thurs 21 July                            Last day of term

Wed 7 September                    Return to school

Thurs 8 September                  Meet the Teachers Meeting 7pm

Mon 12 September                  Nominations Open for Parent Governors

Mon 12 September                  Launch Day

Mon 12 September                  Year 3 Coffee Morning

Tues 13 September                  Year 5 Children to visit Gunpowder Mills

Tues 13 September                  Year 4 Coffee Morning

Wed 14 September                  Year 4 Children to visit Waltham Abbey Museum

Wed 14 September                  Year 5 Coffee Morning

Thurs 15 September                Year 6 Coffee Morning

Friday 16 September              Year 6 to visit Gunpowder Mills

Sat 24 September                     Autumn Fair

Mon 26 September                  Nominations Close for Parent Governors

Thurs 29 September                 Year 3 Harvest Festival 9:30am

Fri 21 October                         Break up for half term

Tues 1 November                     Return to school

Fri 16 December                      Break up from school

Tuesday 3 January 2012           Return to school

Friday 10 February                   Break up from school

Monday 20 February                Return to school

Fri 30 March                            Break up from school

Mon 16 April                           Return to school

Mon 7 May                              Bank Holiday

Thurs 31 May                           Break up from school

Mon 11 June                            Return to school

Fri 20 July 2012                       Break up from school