Newsletter: 1 May 2015

Headteacher’s Comments

The theme of this week’s assemblies has been ‘working hard’.  I know all the children in Year 6 are working hard, focusing on the End of Key Stage 2 Tests (SATs) in just a week’s time.  However, I regularly see children from all year groups who have been given Green Cards, because they are putting consistent effort into their learning.  As I tell the children when they visit me, we can make children feel safe in school, make them happy, have high aspirations for them and teach them to be respectful.  However, they need to put effort into their learning in order for them to learn and make progress.  I hope you all have an enjoyable bank holiday.

Achievements

Well done to Jake Hamilton, Joshua Johnson, Albert Towell-Hardy, Nuray Halim, Jodie Richardson (Mrs Campbell’s Class), Harry Harmer, Francesco Giambanco, Marc Rigo, Jack Cosford, Harry Sharman (Miss Panagiotidou), Oliver Sharp (Miss Gibbs’s Class), Ellie Howard, Ellie Clapham-Brown (Mrs Kaleel’s Class), Samuel Oterunbi (Mr Davey’s Class), Sophie Square (Miss Biggs’s Class), who all achieved Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Mr Davey’s class, who had the best attendance this week with 99.4%.

Bank Holiday Monday (Monday 4 May 2015)

This is a reminder that school is closed on Monday 4 May due to a Bank Holiday.

School Councillor Elections (Tuesday 5 May 2015)

If your child is interested in representing their class on the school council they need to write a piece of writing explaining why they are the best person to be a school councillor.  They can think about the school’s character education and give examples they have used the following traits:

  • Respect
  • Responsible
  • Trustworthy
  • Fair
  • Caring
  • Good Citizen
  • They will read this out in front of their class on Tuesday morning and then their class will vote. The elected councillors will be announced during assembly and published in next week’s newsletter.

Polling Day (Thursday 7 May 2015)

This is a reminder that the Junior School is open on Thursday 7 May.

Cake Sale (8 May 2015)

As part of the VE Day Commemorations the Year 3 children will be holding a cake sale.  All the children in the school will be able to buy cakes at playtime.  Each cake will cost 20p.

VE Day Commemorations (8 May 2015)

To celebrate the 70th anniversary of Victory in Europe Day (VE Day) we are planning a number of activities to commemorate this national event.  Every child will be provided with a free picnic lunch on that day, as we come together to enjoy a picnic lunch.  The day will end with the children joining in with the national 2 minute silence at 3.00pm.  Please beware the gates may be opened later on that Friday.

Feedback from Governing Body

Your governors have met with the Governing Body of the Infant and Nursery School to move matters forward for consultation on the joining of the schools to form one beneficial learning environment.  We hope that you have read the document on the website.  The Curriculum Subcommittee has met.  At that meeting we look closely at statistical evidence on the attainment of all the pupils and thus monitor the progress being made in the implementation of the School Improvement Plan.  After that meeting the governors continued into the evening, carrying out their annual Budget Meeting at which they approve and ratify the budget for the forthcoming academic year prior to that being forwarded to Essex County Council.  Governors are able to seek clarification on spending plans and again monitor the school’s progress against costs.  This week governors have held Personnel Subcommittee and Finance and Premises Sub-Committee.  Details of staff resignations and appointments are brought to the former meeting and all matters relevant to staffing are considered. The Site Manager provides up to date information on the premises and governors look at detailed information on the coming year’s financial planning at the latter.  Individual governors will this term continue their scheduled visits to monitor different subject areas of the curriculum and Safeguarding and Health and Safety in the school.

Miggie Hillson

Chair of Governors

Consultation

Information about the consultation regarding the possible joining of the Infant School and Junior School in becoming a Primary School from September 2016 can be found on the school’s website at http://www.thelevertonjuniorschool.co.uk/consultation.php

Dates for your diary

Monday 4 May                                                Bank Holiday Monday

Tuesday 5 May                                                Year 5 Trip to Gunpowder Mills

Friday 8 May                                       VE Day celebration (lunch provided)

Monday 11 May                                  End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Tuesday 12 May                                  End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Tuesday 12 May                                  2.00pm Consultation period drop in session in Infant School

Tuesday 12 May                                  5.30pm Consultation period drop in session in Junior School

Wednesday 13 May                             End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Wednesday 13 May                             Small Group trip to Copped Hall (Living History)

Thursday 14 May                                End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Friday 15 May                                                 End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Monday 18 May                                  Whole School Trip to Tower of London

Thursday 21 May                                Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 1 June                                                Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 5 June                                       PTA Inflatable Day

Tuesday 23 June                                  District Sports (Field Events)

Tuesday 23 June                                  Open Evening (5-7pm)

Friday 26 June                                     Transition Day

Tuesday 30 June                                  District Sports (Track Events)

Wednesday 1 July                               Year 6 Residential

Thursday 2 July                                               Year 6 Residential

Friday 3 July                                        Year 6 Residential

Tuesday 7 July                                                Sports Day (9am)

Thursday 9 July                                               Reserve Sports Day (9am)

Friday 10 July                                      Swimming Gala

Wednesday 15 July                             Full Governing Body Meeting

Friday 17 July                                      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tuesday 1 September                          INSET Day

Wednesday 2 September                     INSET Day

Thursday 3 September                         Children return

Friday 23 October                                Break up from School

Monday 2 November                           INSET Day

Tuesday 3 November                          Children return

Friday 18 December                            Break up from school

2016

Monday 4 January                               Children return

Thursday 11 February                         Break up from school

Friday 12 February                              INSET Day

Monday 22 February                           Children return

Thursday 24 March                             Break up from school

Monday 11 April                                 Children return

Thursday 26 May                                Break up from school

Monday 6 June                                                Children return

Wednesday 20 July                             Break up from school