Newsletter: 10 May 2013

Headteacher’s Comments

I have been speaking a lot recently about keeping your child safe whilst using the internet and other technologies.  This week’s ‘homework’ is to activate parental controls on your internet browser so that your child is not exposed to anything beyond their years whilst searching the internet.

Achievements

Well done to Leah Hunn, Kirena Nolan, Mia Taylor, Evie Moss, Albert Paris,  Lewis Vowles, Reece Clark, Jemma Johnson, Tiffany Gill, Maya Sweeney-Fenton, Aaron Jones, Jessica Okaka, Sophie Square, Katie Square, Ella Forster,  (Mrs Westney’s/ Ms Cromwell’s Class), Cameron Straughan, Hermione Scott, Alesha Wade (Mrs Sach’s Class), Jamie Soteriou, Charlie Spillett, Kanya Coleman-Adu, Erin Rumens, Rebecca Hamilton (Miss Biggs’s Class) who received Green Cards this wseek.

Attendance

Well done to Miss Wood’s class who had the best attendance this week.  Jay Foster received Percy for sustained effort with his learning this week.

Club Español (13 May)

The dates for Spanish Club this term are Monday 13 May, 20 May, 3 June, 10 June and 17 June.  Mrs May runs Spanish Club every Monday morning starting 8:15am.  There is no cost for this club.

Year 6 SATs (13 May- 16 May)

I would like to wish all of Year 6 the best of luck next week with their SATs.  Please make sure your child has plenty of rest, early nights and has breakfast in the morning.  Please also make sure your child brings in a water bottle.

National Sports Week (24-28 June)

During the week beginning 24 June, it is National Sports week.  Miss Gibbs is trying to organise sports coaches to come in during one afternoon that week so that the children can experience as many different sports as possible.

 

If you are a sports coach or know of someone who is and are available during that week to come in and teach and train the children, please return the slip at the bottom of the page.

Dates for your Diary

Thurs 16 May              Year 3 Family Fun Time

Wed 22 May                WholeSchool Trip (Colchester Zoo) 8:30am-5:00pm

Thurs 23 May               Inflatable Day (3:30pm onwards)

Thurs 23 May               Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 3 June                  Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 5 June                  First Aid Courses (10:00-11:30am)

Thurs 13 June             Year 3 Family Time

Mon 24 June               Sports Day (9am)

Tues 25 June               Open Evening (5:30-7:30 pm)

Fri 28 June                  Transition Day

Mon 1 July                  Reserved Sports Day (9am)

Tues 9 July                   Bags2School Collection

Tues 23 July                 Break up from school (3:15pm)

Wed 4 September        Return to school (8:45am)

Sat 28 September         Autumn Fair

Fri 25 October             Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tues 5 November         Return to school (8:45am)

Fri 8 November            Firework Evening

Fri 20 December          Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 6 January 2014    Return to school (8:45am)

Thurs 13 February        Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 24 February         Return to school (8:45am)

Fri 4 April                    Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tues 22April                Return to school (8:45am)

Mon 5 May                  May Bank Holiday

Thurs 22 May               Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon2 June                   Return to school (8:45am)

Tues 22 July                 Break up from school   (3:15pm)