Newsletter: 13 September 2013

Headteacher’s Comments

As the term starts and gets in full flow there will be a lot of updates on the weekly newsletter.  Please read the newsletter carefully and if you have any questions feel free to speak to either myself or Ms Cromwell at the start or end of each day.

Achievements

Well done to Archie Hemming (Mr Davey’s Class), Kimberley Murray, Eren Tyler, Charlie Santagata, Milan Sharman, Mai-Lei Chan, Leighton Brooks, Freya Brooks, Jamel Johnson-Trent, Aiden Mead (Miss Biggs’s Class), Paul Lawn (Miss Wood’s Class) who received Green Cards this week.

Dads’ drink with Mr Woollcott (Tues 17 Sept at Volunteer Pub starting at 7pm)

I would like to take Dads out for a drink next Tuesday (17 September).  We will be meeting at the Volunteer at 7pm.  This is a chance for Dads to hear current developments at school and also to hear their feedback about how the school is working. You will get an exciting FREE GIFT!!!

Coffee Mornings (Year 3/4- Weds 18 Sept/ Year 5/6- Fri 20 Sept- both starting at 9am)

This term’s coffee mornings will be next week.  Coffee Mornings give you an opportunity to hear current developments at school and also to hear your feedback about how the school is working.  If you can’t make your particular year group day, please feel free to come on another day.  Nans and Granddads are also welcome.  You will get an exciting FREE GIFT!!!

Mrs Raddon’s Class Swimming (19 Sept)

Children in Mrs Raddon’s Class will start swimming next Thursday (19 September).  Please make sure your children have the correct swimming kit and towel.  Any parents who are able to walk down (we leave at 9:00am and return at 10:30am) please speak to someone in the office before Wednesday.

Autumn Fair (Saturday 28 September 12pm- 3pm)

Our School’s PTA is organising our third annual Autumn Fair is on 28 September.  Please keep the date free and encourage friends and family to attend.  All money raised will be going towards improving the facilities in the school.  Alongside this newsletter you will receive a Poster, please display in your window.

King Harold Road Show (Wednesday 2 October- 6pm)

The Headteacher of King Harold Enterprise Academy, Denice Harper, and some members of staff will hold a Road Show for parents of children in Year 5 and 6.  The Road Show takes place on Wednesday, 2 October starting at 6:00pm.  The Road Show will be held here at The Leverton Junior School.

Clubs

 MondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFriday
LunchtimeChoir Hockey (Yr 3/4)Football (Yr 5/6)* 
After School (3:20-4:20)Street Dance Netball (Yr5/6)

 

Food Club (Starting after Half Term)

Homework Club Netball (Yr5/6)

 

 

 

Football Club (Yr 3/4)Tag Rugby* Construction Club 

 

* Trials have taken place and individual children will be told if they will be attending these clubs.

Dates for your diary

Tues 17 September                  Dads’ Drinks with Mr Woollcott (7pm Volunteer Pub)

Wed 18 September                  Coffee Morning (9am-Year 3/4 Parents)

Thurs 19 September                 Mrs Raddon’s Class starts Swimming

Fri 20 September                     Coffee Morning (9am- Year 5/6 Parents)

Sat 28 September                     Autumn Fair

Wed 2 October                        King Harold Road Show for Year 5 and 6 Parents/ Children (6:00pm)

Wed 16 October                      Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Fri 25 October                         Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tues 5 November                     Return to school (8:45am)

Thurs 7 November                   Miss O’Riordan’s Class starts Swimming

Fri 8 November                        Individual Photographs

Fri 8 November                        Firework Evening

Wed 13 November                  Pupil Progress Meetings (3:30- 6:00pm)

Thurs 13 November                 Pupil Progress Meetings (5:00pm- 7:30pm)

Wed 4 December                     Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Mon 16 December                   Christmas Parties

Tues 17 December                   Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Wed 18 December                   Christmas Dinner

Thurs 19 December                  Christmas Pantomime

Fri 20 December                      Christmas Market (2:00pm)

Fri 20 December                      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 6 January 2014                Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 12 February                     Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Thurs 13 February                    Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 24 February                     Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 26 March                         Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Fri 4 April                                Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tues 22April                            Return to school (8:45am)

Mon 5 May                              May Bank Holiday

Mon 12 May                            Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Tues 13 May                            Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Wed 14 May                            Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Thurs 15 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Fri 16 May                               Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Thurs 22 May                           Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 2 June                              Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 18 June                            Family Fun Time (3:15-4:15)

Fri 27 June                               Transition Day (All Years)

Mon- July- Wed 9 July Year 6 Residential

Wed 9 July                               District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 22 July                             Break up from school (3:15pm)