Newsletter: 15 June 2012

Headteacher’s Comments

Thank you to everyone who supported our last day of term.  The children looked excellent in their red, white and blue and it was great to all sit down and have lunch together.  Our PTA raised an amazing £1150 on the Inflatable Day.  Thank you to everyone who supported the event.  Our PTA will be busy during the Summer Open Evening on 28 June.

Achievements

Well done to Reggie Pegrum and Brooke Wilkinson who received a Green Card on Monday for helping Miss Smith to clear up a messy classroom.  There were eight children from Mrs Chapman’s class who received Green Cards for their excellent homework.  Well done to Mia Taylor, Harriet Waterlow and Lewis Vowles for their fantastic science work.  Well done to Katie Square who is the latest year 3 child to have learnt all her tables and is now on the platinum award.  Well done to Reece Clark for his amazing sporting achievement.  Well done Reece Vallance, Taya Hunter, Reggie Pegrum and Kerim Taylor for receiving Green Cards from Mr Waldron.  Well done to Kasey Ashley for receiving a Green Card for showing perseverance in her numeracy work.  Well done to Samantha Burton, Rianna Chambers, Callie Fletcher who received Green Cards on Thursday.  Well done to Albert Paris, Aaron Jones, Jemma Johnson, Jessica Okaka, Mia Taylor, Sam Nespereira, Harriet Waterlow, Reece Vallance, Leo Strange, Alesha Wade, Jamie Schooling, Georgia Berry, Cameron Straughan, Ella Freeman, Jamie Ryan, Harry Clark and Corey Marks for their excellent homework.  Well done to Shantell Bowman who received a Green Card for an outstanding week, striving in every single lesson. Well done everyone!

Food Club

Food Club will be for Year 6 pupils this term.  It will start next Monday (25 June) and will last 4 weeks until Mon 16 July.  A separate letter should have gone out by now.

Year 6 Cake Sale

Year 6 will be holding a cake sale next Friday 22 June during break time.  Any donations of cakes would be greatly appreciated.

PTA Meeting

Our next PTA meeting is on Monday (18 June) starting at 9am.

Kind Donation

A big thank you to Mr and Mrs Smith, Jessica Smith’s parents, who has generously donated enough money to purchase a picnic bench for our playground.  This has been ordered and should be arriving in the next couple of weeks.  Thank you very much!

Residential

38 Children and 6 adults will be on the Year 6 Residential on Monday and Tuesday.  Those children going on the residential will need to be at school at 8:15am on the Monday and return to school at 3:15pm on the Tuesday.  Please make sure any medication is labelled with your child’s name and instructions and given to Mrs Rumens on Monday morning.  Please remember your child needs to bring a packed lunch, a change of clothes and towel to carry with them on Monday.

 

Visits

On Tuesday this week Nicola Jarmaine, from the funeral directors in Market Square, Waltham Abbey, visited the school. She and her grandson Matt kindly agreed to talk to the children about what the job of a funeral director involves. It was a very interesting talk and we would like to thank them both for taking the time to share their experiences with us.

 

We also had a visit from Catherine Hammond, a museum curator, and again would like to extend our thanks to her. These were the first of several assemblies that have been arranged by Mrs Sach to teach the children about some of the jobs being carried out in our local community.

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Pughsley’s Class who had the best attendance last week.

Dates for your diary

Mon 18 June               PTA Meeting 9 am

Mon 18 June                Year 6 Residential

Tues 19 June                Year 6 Residential

Fri 22 June                  Year 6 Cake Sale

Thurs 28 June               Open Evening 5-7pm

Fri 29 June                   West Essex Olympics

Tues 3 July                   Sports Day 9:30am

Tues 3 July                   Special Lunch- Great Britain

Wed 4 July                   District Sports (Field Events)

Thurs 5 July                  Transition Day

Fri 6 July                      Sports Day 9:30am (Reserve)

Sat 7 July                     Olympic Torch Relay

Mon 9 July                   Bag2School sacks to be handed in

Wed 11 July                 District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 17 July                 Year 6 Play 2.00pm

Wed 18 July                 Year 6 Play 5.00pm

Fri 20 July                    Break up from school

Wed 5 September        Return to school

Sat 15 September         Autumn Fair

Wed 19 September      King Harold Road Show

Fri 26 October             Break up from school

Mon 5 November         Return to school

Fri 9 November            Fireworks Display

Tues 18 December       Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Thurs 20 December      Break up from school

2013

Mon 7 January             Return to school

Thurs 14 February        Break up from school

Mon 25 February         Return to school

Thursday 28 March      Break up from school

Mon 15 April               Return to school

Mon 6 May                  May Bank Holiday

Thurs 23 May               Break up from school

Mon 3 June                  Return to school

Tues 23 July                 Break up from school