Newsletter: 16 March 2012

Headteacher’s Comments

Thank you to all the parents who made an appointment and turned up to this week’s Pupil Progress Meetings.  In our last OFSTED inspection the inspectors asked us to ‘Better engage all parents and carers by ensuring more frequent information to parents about pupils’ progress, targets and ways in which they can support their child’s learnin.’  I hope you found the Interim Progress Report useful. On it you will find your child’s current level and what level they are expected to achieve by the end of this year.  This is based upon the level your child achieved at the end of year 2.

Achievements

Well done to Jessica Phillips and Holly Philpot who received a Green Card for always working hard in class.  Ami Byatt, Alesha Wade, Leah Marshall, Scarlett Warren, Owen Brennan and Reece Vallance received Green cards for working hard in a team, making up teaching songs with words, pulse and melody. Well done to Charlie Best for working hard in Maths Booster. Well done to Elspeth Allen and Shanice Lolomari for receiving Green Cards for working really hard in Writing Booster.  Well done to Danny Gill who received a Green Card for his excellent Art Work.

Another Positive Governor Visit

Mrs Square (Parent Governor) carried out a health and safety visit on Monday.  She then sent an email to me saying ‘While walking round the school I noticed all the children seemed to be engaged in their learning and everyone looked happy. The children were all well behaved and the staff were so friendly. I am so pleased my children go to the school.’

Year 5 Swimming

Next week (22 March) will be the last week for the current year five to swim.  On Thursday 29 March the year 5 children who participated in the Aqua Splash will be going swimming to try out for the Swimming Gala.  Please make sure your child has the correct swimming costume and £1.

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Stafford’s Class who won Percy after having Best Attendance last week.

Grand Easter Raffle

You should receive a book of raffle tickets.  This is for our Grand Easter Raffle.  The first prize is a BMX bike.  All the prizes are donated so every £1 ticket sold will be £1 profit for the school PTA.  They are raising money to improve the facilities in the playground.  Please encourage your friends and family to buy a ticket to help.  The draw will take place during the Family Bingo Evening.

Family Bingo Evening

The PTA is organising a Family Easter Bingo evening on Friday 30 March starting at 7:30pm.  Please return the slip with money as soon as possible.  Cost is £5 per adult and £3 per children to include 1 Bingo ticket per game and a sausage and chip supper.  We will also be drawing the Grand Easter Raffle during the evening.

Dates for your diary

Fri 30 March                Break up from school

Fri 30 March                Bingo evening including Grand Draw of the Easter Raffle

Mon 16 April               Return to school

Mon 23 April               Shrek Theatre Trip

Tues 24 April               Special Lunch- Cuba

Tues 1 May                  Whole School Trip to Windsor castle

Mon 7 May                  Bank Holiday

Tues 15 May                Special Lunch- USA

Thurs 31 May               Break up from school

Thurs 31 May               Special lunch- Street Party

Thurs 31 May               Inflatable Fun Day/ Evening

Mon 11 June                Return to school

Tues 12 June                Special Lunch- Norway

Thurs 28 June               Open Evening 5-7pm

Fri 29 June                   West Essex Olympics

Tues 3 July                   Sports Day 9:30am

Tues 3 July                   Special Lunch- Great Britain

Wed 4 July                   District Sports (Field Events)

Thurs 5 July                  Transition Day

Fri 6 July                      Sports Day 9:30am (Reserve)

Sat 7 July                     Olympic Torch Relay

Mon 9 July                   Bag2Bag sacks to be handed in

Wed 11 July                 District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 17 July                 Year 6 Play 2.00pm

Wed 18 July                 Year 6 Play 5.00pm

Fri 20 July                    Break up from school

Weds 5 September       Return to school

Sat 15 September         Autumn Fair

Fri 26 October             Break up from school

Mon 5 November         Return to school

Fri 9 November            Fireworks Display

Tues 18 December       Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Thurs 20 December      Break up from school

Mon 7 January2013     Return to school

Thurs 14 February        Break up from school

Mon 25 February         Return to school