Newsletter: 16 November 2012

Headteacher’s Comments

What a bang! Thank you so much for your support at the Fireworks last Friday.  The PTA organised another fantastic event, raising over £1500 for the school.

Achievements

Well done to Eddie Plowman (Mrs Watson’s Class), Kristy Leeves, George Jones and Aleyna Gurbuz (Mrs Raddon’s Class), Jamel Johnson-Trent (Miss O’Riordan’s Class), Rianna Chambers, Connor Southam (Miss Biggs’s Class), Brandon Wood, Rishi Aggarwal and Melisa Bruton (Miss Wood’s Class) who received Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Sach’s Class who had the best attendance last week.

Christmas Carol Service

This is just a reminder that our Christmas Carol Service is on Tuesday 18 December starting at 1:30pm.  Parents and family are welcome to join us in the Abbey Church for the service.  All children will be expected to be collected from the Church after the service.

Reading at Home

Our whole school priority in literacy this year is to raise the attainment of reading.  In order to help achieve this, every child needs to be reading regularly and discussing what they have read with an adult both in school and at home.  Every child has been given a Reading Record, which should be used to record any reading undertaking, whether the children has read independently or to an adult.  We would like you or whoever reads with your child to comment on how they have read and responded to some of the suggested questions, which are either at the front or back of the Reading Record book.  We expect children to read for at least 5 minutes every evening.

Personalised Christmas Presents

Every child in the school this week has designed a piece of art work.  This art work will be coming home tonight, with an order form for fantastic gift ideas you can buy.  You can then order a range of products that will be back in time for those extra special gifts at Christmas.  These beautiful items are on display in the front office for you to look at it if you wish.  The school will receive money for every item bought.  The order forms and pictures must be back in school by Wednesday 21 November 2012.

Dates for your diary

Wed 21 November      Year 4 Docklands Museum

Fri 23 November          Stars in their Eyes

Mon 3 December         Year 3 Trip to Colchester Castle

Tues 18 December       Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Weds 19 December     Christmas Dinner

Weds 19 December     Pantomime (1:30pm and 5pm)

Thurs 20 December      Christmas Parties

Thurs 20 December      Break up from school

2013

Mon 7 January             Return to school

Wed 16 January          Bags2School Collection

Thurs 14 February        Valentines Disco

Thurs 14 February        Break up from school

Mon 25 February         Return to school

Sat 23 March               Easter Raffle and Bingo

Thursday 28 March      Break up from school

Mon 15 April               Return to school

Fri 3 May                     Inflatable Day

Mon 6 May                  May Bank Holiday

Wed 22 May                Whole School Trip (Colchester Zoo) 8:30am-5:00pm

Thurs 23 May               Break up from school

Mon 3 June                  Return to school

Tues 9 July                  Bags2School Collection

Tues 23 July                 Break up from school

Sat 28 September         Autumn Fair