Newsletter: 17 April 2015

Headteacher’s Comments

Welcome back to the third and final term of this school year.  I hope you all had an enjoyable Easter holiday.  With the hot weather approaching please make sure your child has a water bottle in school every day, so they can drink and hydrate throughout the day.

Achievements

Well done to Jack Cosford, Layla Kaleel, Callum Brooks, Harry Harmer (Miss Panagiotidou’s Class), Ellie Appleton, Jodie Richardson (Mrs Campbell’s Class), Ben Oates (Miss Gibbs’s Class), Tyrece Fenton, Chibu Okoro (Mrs Kaleel’s Class) who all achieved Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Kaleel’s class who had the best attendance this week with 98.1%.

Years 5 and 6 Field Events Club (Thursday 16 April- 3:13- 4:15pm)

In preparation for District Sports, Mr Waldron will be running a Field Events Club for any child in Years 5/6.

Club Español (Monday 20 April 8:15am)

The dates for Spanish Club this term are Monday 20 and 27 April, Monday 11 May and Mondays 1, 8 and 15 June.  All children are welcome.  Spanish Club is in the Computing suite starting at 8:15am.

VE Day Commemorations (8 May)

To celebrate the 70th anniversary of Victory in Europe Day (VE Day) we are planning a number of activities to commemorate this national event.  Every child will be provided with a free picnic lunch on that day as a coming together to enjoy a picnic lunch.  The day will end with the children joining in with the national 2 minute silence at 3.00pm.  Please beware the gates may be opened later on that Friday.

Cycling to school

This is a reminder than any child who cycles to school must wear a helmet.  Also all cyclists need to demount from their bike and walk them on to the school premises.

Spelling

Every week your child should receive 5 spellings linked to the spelling rule they are learning.  As parents, you can support their learning by encouraging the children to find more words with this spelling rule.  Also a reminder that the Year 3/4 and Year 5/6 Statutory Spelling Lists can be found on the school website by following link http://www.thelevertonjuniorschool.co.uk/spelling-34.php

Cross Country

Well done to Sydie Peck and Charlie Pegrum, who represented the school at the Essex County Cross Country Competition before the Easter Holidays.  Sydie came 3rd in Essex and Charlie came 4th.

Netball Match

After an extremely good start to the match, Whitebridge Junior School fought back and the final score was 4-7 to Whitebridge Junior School.

Wicked Tickets (Thursday 30 April 2015)

The PTA has 2 tickets left for Wicked.  These are priced at £35 each, to include coach cost.  If you would like them please put the money in an envelope and return it to the school office.

Consultation

On behalf of the Governoring Bodies I am writing to inform you that we intend to consult with all stakeholders involved with The Leverton Infant & Nursery School and The Leverton Junior School with regard to the possible joining of the Infant School and Junior School in becoming a Primary School from September 2016. More information regarding how to access the consultation document will be available in the next newsletter (24 April 2015).

Geoff Schooling                                                 Miggie Hillson

Chair of Governors (Infant and Nursery)              Chair of Governors (Junior)

Would you leave your front door open?

If we wouldn’t leave our front door open, then why do so many of our children have open profiles on Facebook?  It is all our responsibility to ensure our children are safe on the Internet.  Please read the information at the bottom of this Newsletter.

Dates for your diary

Monday 20 April                                    Spanish Club (8:15am)

Wednesday 22 April                               Governing Body Curriculum (6:30pm) and Budget (7:30pm) meetings

Wednesday 29 April                               Governing Body Personnel (6:30pm) and Finance (7:30pm) meetings

Friday 8 May                                         VE Day celebration (lunch provided)

Monday 11 May                                     End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Tuesday 12 May                                     End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Wednesday 13 May                                End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Thursday 14 May                                   End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Friday 15 May                                       End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Monday 18 May                                     Whole School Trip to Tower of London

Thursday 21 May                                   Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 1 June                                      Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 5 June                                         PTA Inflatable Day

Tuesday 23 June                                     District Sports (Field Events)

Friday 26 June                                       Transition Day

Tuesday 30 June                                     District Sports (Track Events)

Wednesday 1 July                                  Year 6 Residential

Thursday 2 July                                     Year 6 Residential

Friday 3 July                                         Year 6 Residential

Wednesday 15 July                                 Full Governing Body Meeting

Friday 17 July                                       Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tuesday 1 September                              INSET Day

Wednesday 2 September                         INSET Day

Thursday 3 September                            Children return

Friday 23 October                                  Break up from School

Monday 2 November                              INSET Day

Tuesday 3 November                              Children return

Friday 18 December                               Break up from school

2016

Monday 4 January                                  Children return

Thursday 11 February                             Break up from school

Friday 12 February                                 INSET Day

Monday 22 February                              Children return

Thursday 24 March                                 Break up from school

Monday 11 April                                    Children return

Thursday 26 May                                   Break up from school

Monday 6 June                                      Children return

Would you speak to someone you never met and tell them about yourself?

Over the weekend please make sure you:

 

  1. Check privacy settings so only ‘friends’ can see any information
  2. Delete anyone your child hasn’t met in the ‘real’ world
  3. Disable location service (GPS)

Tips to keep your child safe on the Internet:

  1. Ensure your child uses the Internet in your view (not behind closed door eg bedroom)
  2. Give time limits for your child to be on the Internet
  3. Check your child’s profile regularly to ensure it doesn’t contain personal information and information that shouldn’t be shared.

Wednesday 20 July                                 Break up from