Newsletter: 18 January 2013

Headteacher’s Comments

There have been a number of positive comments from parents regarding progress made by their children since the changes to the way the school has organised reading and times tables.  It is really important that you find time to work with your child every night to support them with their learning.

Achievements

Well done to Tia Joseph, Millie-Jo Lanza, Aleyna Gurbuz, Jay Hyams, James Warner, Samaya Kaleel, Rosie Nichols, Mika Cunningham, Archie Hemming (Mrs Raddon’s Class), Alfie Tillbrook (Mrs Sach’s Class), Millie Eastwood, Sophie Lewis and Kyle Kadiri (Miss Gibbs’s Class), Megan Woodward, Callie Fletcher and Daisy Jones (Mrs Biggs’s Class), Lewis Clarke and Ben Brooks (Miss Wood’s Class) who received green cards this week.

 

I was also asked to visit Miss Wood’s class earlier in the week because there were a lot of children who consistently got 100% in their spelling test and also reduced their times tables speed test by 30 seconds.

Attendance

Well done to Miss O’Riordan’s Class who had the best attendance for the second week running.

Club Español

The dates for Spanish Club this term are Monday 21 January, 28 January, 4 February, 11 February, 25 February, 4 March, 11 March and 18 March.  Mrs May runs Spanish Club every Monday morning starting 8:15am.  There is no cost for this club.

Cross Country Trials

The inter school Cross Country competition is fast approaching.  Next Tuesday (22 January) Miss Gibbs will be running trials.  If your child is interested, they need to be able to run around the school field 8 times without stopping.  They need to bring in a change of clothes (they don’t mind getting muddy) and meet Miss Gibbs on the playground at 12:30pm.  This is open to all years.

Coffee Mornings                                                         

This term’s coffee mornings are advertised below.  These give you an opportunity to hear current developments at school and also to hear your feedback about how the school is working.  If you can’t make your particular year group day, please feel free to come on another day.  Nans and Granddads are also welcome.  You will get an exciting FREE GIFT and this time cake will be on offer!!!

Menu Changes

Next Wednesday’s Roast Dinner will be Roast Turkey instead of Roast Pork.

Another baby on its way

Congratulations to Miss Gordon who is expecting a baby later this year.

First Aid Course

Thank you to the parents who expressed interest in the First Aid Course.  Mrs Cromwell is busy trying to organise it.  In the meantime, the Hazelwood Children’s Centre on Ninefields are offering a First Aid Course starting on 27 February and running until 20 March (12:30-2:00pm).  Contact the centre on 01992 809059 to book a place.

St Clare Hospice

I received a letter from St Clare Hospice yesterday thanking everyone who purchased a Christmas Pin Badge.  Our school raised £32 towards the centre.

Dates for your Diary

Tues 22 January          Cross Country Trials (12:30pm)

Mon 28 January           Year 3 Coffee Morning (9:00am)

Tues 29 January           Year 4Coffee Morning (9:00am)

Weds 30 January          Year 5Coffee Morning (9:00am)

Thurs 31 January          Year 6Coffee Morning (9:00am)

Mon 4 February          PTA Meeting (9am)

Fri 8 February            Inter schools Cross Country

Thurs 14 February      Valentines Disco Year 3 and 4 (3:30-5:00pm)

Thurs 14 February      Valentines Disco Year 5 and 6 (5:30-7:00pm)

Thurs 14 February        Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 25 February         Return to school (8:45am)

Tues 19 March Pupil Progress Meetings (3:30- 6:00)

Thurs 21 March            Pupil Progress Meetings (5:00- 7:30)

Sat 23 March               Easter Raffle and Bingo

Thursday 28 March      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 15 April               Return to school (8:45am)

Fri 3 May                     Inflatable Day

Mon 6 May                  May Bank Holiday (No School)

Wed 22 May                Whole School Trip (Colchester Zoo) 8:30am-5:00pm

Thurs 23 May               Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 3 June                  Return to school (8:45am)

Tues 9 July                  Bags2School Collection

Tues 23 July                 Break up from school (3:15pm)

Sat 28 September         Autumn Fair