Newsletter: 19 December 2014

Newsletter: 19 December 2014

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year from everyone at The Leverton Junior School

Headteacher’s Comment

Thank you to all the parents, grandparents and even great grandparents who have supported our festive celebrations over the past week.  The children have done extremely well; the singing in the church was beautiful.  A big thank you to Mrs Miller and her team for a great Christmas Lunch on Tuesday.  The children all seemed to be having a great time at the parties on Wednesday, with many gifts of food donated by families.  Well done to all the children who took part in this year’s pantomime ‘Captain Hook’s Revenge’.

Achievements

Well done to Julia Blaszczyk, Layla Kaleel, Paolo Rodia, Sydnae-Rose Smith, Welaa Lahreche, Mark Rigo (Mrs Watson’s Class), Ralfie Paris (Mrs Kaleel’s Class), Abbey Savery, Charlie Pegrum, Ryan Locke, Myreon Keane, Hamid Lahreche, Alfie Willis, Olivia Weller, Ben Rowe (Mrs Haslehurst’s Class), Scarlett Wilson, Reece Vallance, Isabella Wilson (Miss O’Riordan’s Class) who received Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Mr Davey’s Class who had the best attendance this week with 99.1%.

100% Club

Well done to these children who have had 100% attendance since September – Rhys Brown, Cameron Bush, Harry Clark, Reece Clark, Jack Cosford, Rebecca Crawley, Connor Dunkin, Kyla Erkan, Kallum Etienne, Evie Freeman, Francesco Giambanco, Sarah Giambanco, Jodie Grove, Harry Harmer, Archie Hemming, Leyla Hime, Demi Hoffman, Jay Hyams, Lennie Hyams, Jemma Johnson, Joshua Johnson, Layla Kaleel, Samaya Kaleel, Robyn Kaminski, Callum Kealy-Johnson, Natalie Lewis, Ryan Locke, Mollie-Anne Maduro-Moore, Soraya Mahfoudi, Rhiannon Margetson, Jacob Martinelli, Milliam Namuli, Alexandre Nespereira, Samuel Nespereira, Madeline Nichols, Darren Ojuade, Jessica Okaka, Samuel Oterunbi, Kye Page, Barney Paris, Faith Parker, Charlie Pegrum, Reggie Pegrum, Michael Phipps, Hannah Platts, Oliver Roberts, Paolo Rodia, Sienna Roseweir-Evans, Abbey Savery, Kristal Savery, Sophie Savery, Jamie Schooling, Harry Sharman, Oliver Sharp, Abi Shippey, Tomas Sichel, Katie Square, Corey Stevens, Bridget Thomas, Alfie Tillbrook, Archie Tuck, Reece Vallance, Alesha Wade, James Warner, Harriet Waterlow, Ruby Waterlow, Holly Whiten, Isabella Wilson, Charlie Wood and Olivia Wood.

Return to School (5 January 2015 at 8:45am)

This is a reminder that the first day of term is Monday 5 January 2015.  Children are expected to line up in the playground at 8:45am.

Homework Club (13 January 2015)

The first Homework Club will be on Tuesday 13 January 2015 between (3:15 and 4:15pm).  Please remember only children with homework should attend.

Christmas Mini Reading Challenge

For the second year The Reading Agency (who develop the Summer Reading Challenge every year) are offering a Christmas Mini Challenge from Friday 12 December 2014 to Tuesday 6 January 2015. Children join by updating their profile page on the Summer Reading Challenge Website (http://summerreadingchallenge.org.uk/) or by visiting their local library and borrowing lots of books and downloading stickers from the website as they read them.

Menu Changes First Week Back

The menu for the first week back will be as follows:

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
Sausage and Mash 

Vegetable Stir Fry

 

Seasonal vegetables and salad

 

Strawberry whip

 

Fresh fruit/ yoghurt

BBQ chicken with rice 

Veggie sausages and mash

 

Seasonal vegetables and salad

 

Jam Sponge with custard

 

Fresh fruit/ yoghurt

Roast Gammon 

Savoury quorn mince

 

Seasonal vegetables and salad

 

Jelly

 

Fresh fruit/ yoghurt

Chicken and sweet corn pasta 

Pizza selection with chunky wedges

 

Seasonal vegetables and salad

 

Fruit crumble with custard

 

Fresh fruit/ yoghurt

Fish and Chips 

Veggie burger and chips

 

Seasonal vegetables and salad

 

Chocolate cornflake cake

 

Fresh fruit/ yoghurt

Parking around school

I have been contacted by a parent whose disabled son was unable to be collected from his home to be taken to school because parents parked inconsiderately over the drive.  I would like to remind parents that it is illegal for motorists to park across a drive if it prevents the person living at that address from leaving their premises.

Dates for your diary

2015

Monday 5 January                   Return to school (8:45am)

Monday 12 January                 Launch Days

Wednesday 14 January                        School Nurse in for Weight and Height Year 6 (9:30am)

Thursday 15 January               Governing Body Curriculum meeting (6:30pm)

Wednesday 21 January                        Governing Body Personnel (6:30pm) and Finance (7:30pm) meetings

Monday 26 January                 Year 4 Trip (Queen Elizabeth Hunting Lodge)

Thursday 12 February             PTA Valentines Disco

Thursday 12 February             Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 23 February               Return to school (8:45am)

Wednesday 4 March                Full Governing Body meeting (7:00pm)

Friday 13 March                      PTA- Mother Day Gifts

Friday 20 March                      PTA- Quiz Night

Friday 27 March                      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 13 April                     Return to school (8:45am)

Wednesday 22 April                Governing Body Curriculum (6:30pm) and Budget (7:30pm) meetings

Wednesday 29 April                Governing Body Personnel (6:30pm) and Finance (7:30pm) meetings

Monday 11 May                      End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Tuesday 12 May                      End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Wednesday 13 May                 End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Thursday 14 May                    End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Friday 15 May                                     End of Key Stage 2 Tests (Year 6)

Thursday 21 May                    Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 1 June                                    Return to school (8:45am)

Tuesday 23 June                      District Sports (Field Events)

Friday 26 June                         Transition Day

Tuesday 30 June                      District Sports (Track Events)

Wednesday 1 July                   Year 6 Residential

Thursday 2 July                                   Year 6 Residential

Friday 3 July                            Year 6 Residential

Wednesday 15 July                 Full Governing Body Meeting

Friday 17 July                          Break up from school (3:15pm)