Newsletter: 2 May 2014

Headteacher’s Comments

Please do take some time to visit the displays in the entrance hall of the school.  There is a constant update of the achievements displayed by pupils at our school and also a display about what things we have put into place this year to meet our school improvement targets of:

  • Raising attainment so it is 1.5 points above national average.
  • Improving the teaching of mathematics.
  • Develop pupil independence and resilience in their learning.

Achievements

Well done Jack Kingham, Ellie Howard, Paige Rood, Luke Edridge (Miss Kent’s Class), Veronica Bergamino, Fatma Celik (Mrs Haslehurt’s Class) Harriet Waterlow, Mia Orosun (Miss O’Riordan’s Class) Jessica Smith (Miss Wood’s Class) who received Green Cards this week.

 

Attendance

Well done to Miss O’Riordan’s class who had the best attendance for a second week in a row with 98.5%.

Bank Holiday Monday (5 May)

This is a reminder that next Monday (5 May) is a bank holiday. Therefore, school will be closed.  School starts again on Tuesday 6 May at 8:45am.

Club Español (8:15am)

The dates for Spanish Club this term are 12 and 19 May and 2, 9 and 16 June.  The club is based in the ICT suite and starts at 8:15am.

Inflatable Day (Thurs 22 May 3:15pm)

This is a reminder that the PTA are organising another Inflatable Day on Thursday 22 May.  Details will follow next week.  If there are any parents who are able to help out to man an inflatable, please speak to a member of the PTA.

 

Meeting with Headteacher

I try to make myself available to meet parents as quickly as possible.  However, there are times when I have meetings already planned, I am monitoring the quality of teaching and learning in the school, I am teaching or I am out at training or update courses.  Therefore, it is not always possible to meet straight away.  The office will make appointments based around my diary commitments.

 

Maths Challenge:

Can you solve the Tricky part of the maths challenge?  Squared paper is available from the Maths Challenge board.  Please remember to write your name and class on your entries!

Penta people, the Pentigles, always build their houses from five square rooms on one level – ground level.  The houses can be designed in a variety of shapes, but a room must be joined to at least one other room by one wall. Here is a design drawing for a Penta house, a view from above.

      Here is another one:    

There are many different ways that you can arrange the five rooms.  I wonder how many different Penta homes you can create.  Try to find all possible shapes the Pentigles can build their homes.

 

 

Dates for your diary

Mon 5 May                             May Bank Holiday

Mon 12 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Mon 12 May                           Spanish Club (8:15am)

Tues 13 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Wed 14 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Thurs 15 May                          Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Fri 16 May                              Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Mon 19 May                           Spanish Club (8:15am)

Tues 20 May                           Whole School Trip (8:15am)

Thurs 22 May                          Inflatable Day (3:15-7pm)

Thurs 22 May                          Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 2 June                             Spanish Club (8:15am)

 

Mon 2 June                             Return to school (8:45am)

Mon 12 May                           Spanish Club (8:15am)

Mon 9 June                             Spanish Club (8:15am)

Mon 16 June                           Spanish Club (8:15am)

Tues 24 June                           Open Evening (5-7pm)

Fri 27 June                              Transition Day (All Years)

Fri 27 June                              Circus (4:30pm and 6:30pm)

Mon- July- Wed 9 July           Year 6 Residential

Wed 9 July                              District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 22 July                            Break up from school (3:15pm)

Wednesday 3 September        Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 24 October                   Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 3 November              Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 19 December               Break up from school (3:15pm)

2015

Monday 5 January                   Return to school (8:45am)

Thursday 12 February             Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 23 February               Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 27 March                      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 13 April                     Return to school (8:45am)

Thursday 21 May                    Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 1 June                                    Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 17 July                          Break up from school (3:15pm