Newsletter: 20 November 2015

Headteacher’s Comments

Thank you to all the parents who have supported this week’s Pupil Progress Meetings. I hope you found it useful finding out what your children can do and how to support them in their next stage of their learning.

Achievements

Well done Csenge Farkas, Chelsea Alexandro-Baptist, Alfie Gillan (Miss Hubbard’s Class), Leanne Savery, Nancy Taylor, Jack Morris, Kenny Pask, Hannah Dakin, Jerome Pownall-Jones, Fiona Kwao, Lily McGivern, Samiha Begum, Henry Gurnett, Finely Kealy-Johnson, Zak Fawcett (Miss Panagiotidou), Layla Kaleel (Miss Day’s Class), Elsie Peck (Mrs Sach’s Class), Mikki-May Fells, Robyn Kaminski (Mrs King’s Class), Tomor Troshupa, Archie Hemming, Max Sichel, Samaya Kaleel, Rhiannon Margetson, Molly Bartlett (Miss Bektas’s Class), Allanah Nolan, Millie Hamilton, Neila Ali (Miss Biggs’s Class) who achieved Green Cards this week.

Alice in Wonderland Day (Friday, 27 November)

We are celebrating the 150th anniversary of the publication of Alice in Wonderland on Friday 27th November. We would love the children to dress up as characters from Alice. For example, Alice, The Mad Hatter, A Playing Card, The Queen of Hearts, the Cheshire Cat and Tweedledum and Tweedledee. The teachers have planned activities around a creative curriculum to celebrate the book and we are looking forward to the day.

Christmas Dates

One eagle-eyed parent noticed that the dates for Christmas activities have not been included on the newsletter. These are as followed:

Monday 14 December (pm)                            Christmas Parties

Tuesday 15 December (1:30-2:30pm) Christmas Service at Abbey Church

Wednesday 16 December (12:00-1:15pm)     Christmas Dinner

Thursday 17 December (1:30pm and 5pm)    Christmas Pantomime

Friday 18 December (from 2pm)                    Christmas Market

Children in Need

Thank you to all the parents who contributed to the cake sale. We raised a staggering £200 that will be donated to Children in Need.

 

Mince Pies

If anyone can bake or provide mince pies for the Christmas market at the end of term, please speak to Tash Cosford or Claire Perry.

 

PTA Monies

Due to the fantastic work of the PTA and due to all the parents and children who support the PTA events, the PTA has over £10,000 in the bank account. They are now seeking views on how to spend this money to provide facilities that all children can access and benefit from.  If you have any ideas, please return the slip below.

 

Relief Catering Assistant

Relief catering assistant required to cover kitchen staff when absent. Please apply to the school office (01992 715885) or telephone Elaine Miller (Kitchen 01992 715922).

 

Dates for your diary

Friday 11th December                                                 Spelling Bee competition

Monday 14 December (pm)                            Christmas Parties

Tuesday 15 December (1:30-2:30pm) Christmas Service at Abbey Church

Wednesday 16 December (12:00-1:15pm)     Christmas Dinner

Thursday 17 December (1:30pm and 5pm)    Christmas Pantomime

Friday 18 December (from 2pm)                    Christmas Market

Friday 18 December                                        Break up from school

2016

Monday 4 January                               Children return

Monday 11 January                             Launch Day

Monday 11 January                             Year 6 Visitor (Ancient Greece Workshop)

Wednesday 13 January                                    Governors Curriculum Meeting (6:30pm)

Tuesday 19 January                             Year 5 Trip to Oxford (8:15am start)

Wednesday 20 January                                    Governors Personnel Meeting (6:30pm)

Wednesday 20 January                                    Governors Finance and Premises Meeting (7:30pm)

Tuesday 26 January                             Year 4 Trip to Queen Elizabeth’s Hunting Lodge

Friday 29 January                                Year 3 Trip to Layer Marney Tower (8:15am start)

Friday 5 February                                Spelling Bee

Friday 5 February                                Leverton’s Got Talent

Thursday 11 February                         PTA- Valentine’s Disco (4:30pm Years 3/4 and 6:30pm Years 5/6)

Thursday 11 February                         Break up from school

Friday 12 February                              INSET Day

Monday 22 February                           Children return

Wednesday 2 March                            Full Governors Meeting (7:30pm)

Friday 4 March                                                PTA- Mother Day’s Gifts

Friday 18th March                               Spelling Bee

Thursday 24 March                             Break up from school

Monday 11 April                                 Children return

Wednesday 20 April                            Governors Curriculum Meeting (6:30pm)

Wednesday 20 April                            Budget Setting Meeting (7:30pm)

Friday 22 April                                                PTA- Quiz Night

Wednesday 27 April                            Governors Personnel Meeting (6:30pm)

Wednesday 27 April                            Governors Finance and Premises Meeting (7:30pm)

Friday 20th May                                  Spelling Bee

Thursday 26 May                                PTA- Inflatable Day

Thursday 26 May                                Break up from school

Monday 6 June                                                Children return

Friday 17 June                                     PTA- Father’s Day Gifts

Wednesday 13 July                             Full Governors Meeting (7:00pm)

Friday 15th July                                   Ultimate Spelling Bee competition

Wednesday 20 July                             Break up from school