Newsletter: 23 September 2011

Headteacher’s Comments

Mrs Cromwell and I visited another school yesterday and were blown away by the facilities in their playground.  Our PTA is working extremely hard at raising money to provide more areas in the playground, the Autumn Fair being the ‘Big One’.

Achievements

Jamel Johnson-Trent received a green card for working hard in class.  Raymond Bull received a green card for being trustworthy after finding some raffle tickets and handing them back to a child.  Mehmet Yahsi received his green card for caring for another child.  I was also asked to visit Miss Biggs’s Class who sang to me.  Eden Ramsey brought her cross-stitch to show me.  Jessica Okaka and Holly Whiten were given green cards for showing respect in the class.  Theo Harris and Lauren Stergess-Hall received green cards for putting a lot of effort into their work.  Cameron Gilder received a green card for working hard in his literacy lesson.  Well done everyone!

Attendance

Well done to Miss Gibbs’s Class who had the best attendance last week.

Autumn Fair- Tomorrow 11am-3pm

I look forward to seeing as many children and parents at our Autumn Fair tomorrow.  The PTA has been working extremely hard preparing the Fair, so please support the event.

Harvest Festival

This year we are returning to a more traditional Harvest Festival and are asking you to provide gifts of food that will be distributed to the Salvation Army in Waltham Abbey.  They then give food parcels to local families who are experiencing temporary difficulties.  Please provide tinned or dried food only:

 

 

Tinned meat and fish

Baked Beans

Tinned or instant potatoes

Tinned vegetables

Tinned or packet soup

Tinned fruit

Tinned Rice

Packet of pasta

Packet of rice

Pasta Sauce

Boxes of long life milk

Packet of cereal

Biscuits

Tea/ Coffee/ Sugar

 

 

Please ask your child to hand in the goods to their class teacher, any time from now to 6 October.

MacMillan Coffee Morning- Friday 30 November

Every year MacMillan Cancer Support holds a ‘World’s Biggest Coffee Morning’.  Mrs Thorogood will once again run the coffee morning at our school during Breakfast Club (8:15- 8:45) and all proceeds from the breakfast club on Friday will be donated to the charity.  So please come and along and have a cup of tea or coffee with a slice of toast to help a very worthwhile charity.

School Governors

Nominations close on Monday (26 September).  So far we have had 3 nominations for 5 places so please consider supporting the school by becoming a School Governor.  Don’t leave it for someone else to do!

Dates for your diary

Sat 24 September                      Autumn Fair 11am-3pm

Mon 26 September                    Nominations Close for Parent Governors

Fri 30 September                       Auditions for Stars in Their Eyes

Fri 30 September                     MacMillan Coffee Morning (Breakfast Club)

Tues 4 October                         IEP Meetings

Thurs 6 October                        Year 3 Harvest Festival 9:30am

Fri 21 October                           Break up for half term

Tues 1 November                      Return to school

Wed 2 November                      Year 3 Trip to Colchester Castle

Tues 8 November                      Pupil Progress Meetings

Thurs 10 November                   Pupil Progress Meetings

Fri 11 November                       Year 6 Remembrance Assembly

Fri 25 November                       Tag Rugby Tournament

Fri 25 November                       Stars in their Eyes

Tues 13 December                    Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Wed 14 December                    Christmas Dinner

Fri 16 December                       Break up from school

Tues 3 January 2012                Return to school

Fri 10 February                        Cross Country Competition

Fri 10 February                        Break up from school

Mon 20 February                     Return to school

Tues 13 March             IEP Meetings

Tues 13 March             Pupil Progress Meetings

Thurs 15 March                        Pupil Progress Meetings

Fri 30 March                            Break up from school

Mon 16 April                           Return to school

Mon 7 May                              Bank Holiday

Thurs 31 May                           Break up from school

Mon 11 June                            Return to school

Thurs 28 June                           Open Evening 5-7pm

Fri 29 June                               West Essex Olympics

Tues 3 July                               Sports Day 9:30am

Thurs 5 July                              Transition Day

Fri 6 July                                  Sports Day 9:30am (Reserve)

Mon 9 July                               District Sports (Field Events)

Wed 11 July                             District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 17 July                             Year 6 Play 2.00pm

Wed 18 July                             Year 6 Play 5.00pm

Fri 20 July 2012                       Break up from school