Newsletter: 24 February 2012

Headteacher’s Comments

Welcome back! We are now in the second half of the school year.  Well done to the PTA who ran yet another successful event.  The Valentine’s Disco raised over £400 for the school.  All this money is being used to help improve the facilities in the playground.  A special thank you to Mrs Schooling who made the cupcakes which each child received at the end of the disco.

Achievements

Well done to Teiye Richards for showing a caring attitude towards a child in his class who hurt himself as he was coming into school.  Well done to Amy Hamilton, Natalia Zolowitz, Jessica Crompton, Sian Coleman-Adu, Manpreet Tak and Shanice Lolomari for the extra effort in their homework.  Well done to Michael Wan and Daisy Jones for receiving Green Cards this week.  Well done to Shanice Lolomari, Oliver Katz, Sian Coleman-Adu and Melody Ramanah for receiving Green Cards for doing consistently well in their spellings.  Well done too to Lacey Howard, Zeeshan Hussain and Albie Paris who received Green Cards this week.  Well done to Sian Coleman-Adu, Danny Gill, Rebecca Bright, Jessica Crompton, Manpreet Tak, Bisma Zubairi and Daniella Lanza who received a Green Card for great homework or reading journals.  Well done to everyone!

Attendance

Well done to Miss Smith’s class who had the best attendance last week and won Percy.

Clubs

This a reminder of the following clubs run at our school

MondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFriday
Before SchoolSpanish Club 8:15-8:45pm
During LunchtimeMrs Campbell’s Small Games’ Club

Ms Stafford’s Beginner Recorders

Ms Stafford’s 2nd Group

Miss Gibb’s Netball Practice

Mr Woollcott’s Gifted and Talented Club

Miss Bigg’s Drama Club

Miss Smith’s Upper School ChoirMiss Smith’s Lower School Choir
After SchoolMrs Sach and Miss Gordon’s Food Club (Year 3)Mrs Thorogood’s Homework Club

Mrs McConnell’s Art Club

Mr Rogers’ Football ClubMr Waldron’s Multipsorts Club

Parent classes

Come along to the parent classes available here every Tuesday at 1pm in the Dining Hall.  It is a great opportunity for you to work with your child and make reading and Literacy fun!  If you need creche facilities please speak to Ms Cromwell first. All parents very welcome!

Dates for your diary

Fri 2 March                  Egyptian Workshop Day for Year 5

Tues 6 March               Special Lunch- Jamaica

Mon 12 March                        School Book Fair

Tues 13 March IEP Meetings

Tues 13 March Pupil Progress Meetings

Thurs 15 March            Pupil Progress Meetings

Fri 30 March                Break up from school

Fri 30 March                Bingo evening including Grand Draw of the Easter Raffle

Mon 16 April               Return to school

Mon 23 April               Shrek Theatre Trip

Tues 24 April               Special Lunch- Cuba

Tues 1 May                  Whole School Trip to Windsor castle

Mon 7 May                  Bank Holiday

Tues 15 May                Special Lunch- USA

Thurs 31 May               Break up from school

Thurs 31 May               Special lunch- Street Party

Thurs 31 May               Inflatable Fun Day/ Evening

Mon 11 June                Return to school

Tues 12 June                Special Lunch- Norway

Thurs 28 June               Open Evening 5-7pm

Fri 29 June                   West Essex Olympics

Tues 3 July                   Sports Day 9:30am

Tues 3 July                   Special Lunch- Great Britain

Wed 4 July                   District Sports (Field Events)

Thurs 5 July                  Transition Day

Fri 6 July                      Sports Day 9:30am (Reserve)

Sat 7 July                     Olympic Torch Relay

Mon 9 July                   Bag2Bag sacks to be handed in

Wed 11 July                 District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 17 July                 Year 6 Play 2.00pm

Wed 18 July                 Year 6 Play 5.00pm

Fri 20 July                    Break up from school

Weds 5 September       Return to school

Sat 15 September         Autumn Fair

Fri 26 October Break up from school

Mon 5 November         Return to school

Fri 9 November            Fireworks Display

Tues 18 December       Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Thurs 20 December      Break up from school

Mon 7 January2013     Return to school

Thurs 14 February        Break up from school

Mon 25 February         Return to school

Thursday 28 March      Break up from school

Mon 15 April               Return to school

Mon 6 May                  May Bank Holiday

Thurs 23 May               Break up from school

Mon 3 June                  Return to school

Tues 23 July                 Break up from school