Newsletter: 3 May 2013

Headteacher’s Comments

We are currently finalising dates for the remainder of this year.  Please check the ‘Dates’ for your diary section every week for updated dates.  Fingers crossed that Sports Day can go ahead on the scheduled date (Mon 24 June).

Achievements

Well done to Samaya Kaleel, James Warner (Mrs Raddon’s Class), Sydie Peck (x2), Charlie Pegrum and Eddie Plowman, Freddie Paris (Mrs Watson’s Class), Kirena Nolan, Leah Hunn (Mrs Westney/ Ms Cromwell’s Class), Reggie Pegrum and Rico Thomas (Mrs Sach’s Class), Jamel Johnson Trent (Miss O’Riordan’s Class), Alisa Cakirgoz (Miss Gibbs’s Class) who received Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Miss O’Riordan’s class who had the best attendance this week.

May Bank Holiday (6 May)

This is a reminder that there is no school on Monday as it is Bank Holiday.  School starts as usual at 8:45am on Tuesday 7 May.

PTA Meeting (8 May 9am)

This is a reminder that the next PTA meeting is on Wednesday 8 May at 9am.  All parents welcome.

Club Español (13 May)

The dates for Spanish Club this term are Monday 13 May, 20 May, 3 June, 10 June and 17 June.  Mrs May runs Spanish Club every Monday morning starting 8:15am.  There is no cost for this club.

Water Bottles

This is a reminder that every child should bring in a water bottle so that they can have a drink of water during lessons and stay hydrated.

Cross Country

A first for our school! We had two children who went through to County cross country finals and, not only did they get through, but they did extremely well.  Well done to Sydie Peck who came 1st (yes 1st in Essex) and Charlie Pegrum who came 4th!  We are very proud of your achievements.

MacMillan Cancer Support

I received a letter this week thanking everyone involved in the MacMillan Coffee morning.  We raised £51.10.

Do you love family quizzes?

BBC Radio 4 Extra is looking for teams for Fred MacAulay’s exciting intergenerational quiz show ‘Keep it in the Family’.  Teams consist of two people: One child (aged 10-12) and one adult (their parent/ guardian or carer).  If you’re interested in taking part or would like more information then e-mail: keepitinthefamily@bbc.co.uk or phone: 0141 422 6229.

Dates for your Diary

Mon 6 May                  May Bank Holiday (No School)

Wed 8 May                  PTA Meeting (9am)

Thurs 16 May              Year 3 Family Fun Time

Wed 22 May                WholeSchool Trip (Colchester Zoo) 8:30am-5:00pm

Thurs 23 May               Inflatable Day (3:30pm onwards)

Thurs 23 May               Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 3 June                  Return to school (8:45am)

Wed 5 June                  First Aid Courses (10:00-11:30am)

Thurs 13 June             Year 3 Family Time

Mon 24 June               Sports Day (9am)

Fri 28 June                  Transition Day

Mon 1 July                  Reserved Sports Day (9am)

Tues 9 July                   Bags2School Collection

Tues 23 July                 Break up from school (3:15pm)

Wed 4 September        Return to school (8:45am)

Sat 28 September         Autumn Fair

Fri 25 October             Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tues 5 November         Return to school (8:45am)

Fri 8 November            Firework Evening

Fri 20 December          Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 6 January 2014    Return to school (8:45am)

Thurs 13 February        Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 24 February         Return to school (8:45am)

Fri 4 April                    Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tues 22April                Return to school (8:45am)

Mon 5 May                  May Bank Holiday

Thurs 22 May               Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon2 June                   Return to school (8:45am)

Year 6 Limo and Meal (23 July)

 

There are only 17 spaces left and these will be issued on a first come basis.  A £10 deposit is required to secure your child’s place.  Please hand the deposit to Sally Page (Kerys’s Mum) or Janet Vallance (Amy’s Mum).

Tues 22 July                 Break up from school   (3:15pm)