Newsletter: 4 November 2011

Deputy Headteacher’s Comments

It is the Bonfire Disco tonight from 6-8 pm which has been organised by the dedicated PTA team. There has been a huge number of tickets sold, 100 in total which is great news.  I know the event will be a great success!

Unfortunately there are no more tickets available.

Well done to the Year 3’s on their trip to Colchester Castle yesterday. I understand that they behaved beautifully as a whole.  I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all the parents who came on the trip to support us for the day.  Well tried to the school football team who played against Thomas Willingale School last night. Let’s hope that tonight’s match against Whitebridge school is a great success! Come on Leverton!

Achievements

Well done to Albert Paris and Reece Clark who were recommended to receive a Green Card by the Play Leaders earlier in the week for tidying up garage without being asked.  Ben McFadden and Tommy Argent received Green Cards for working extremely hard in their maths lesson. Also all the following pupils received green cards:-Amber-Louise Giddy for very good homework, Toni Brancher for extra work in Writing Booster, Jay Stevens for Maths booster, Kacey Ashley for excellent extra work done and Tylah Cox, Alfie Wright and Liam Nelson for fantastic Science work.  Louie Chillingworth received a Green Card for showing a caring attitude on the Year 3 trip to Colchester Castle.  Well done to all these children.

Attendance

Well done to Miss Rogers who had the best attendance last week with a near-perfect score of 99.4%.  Last half term a staggering 122 children had 100%.  Well done to all those children (and parents) for being in school everyday.  Keep up the good work!

School Photos

The School Photographer will be coming to school on Thursday 10th November, to take individual and family photographs.  If you wish your child to have a photograph taken with brothers and/or sisters in the Leverton Infant School, please complete and return the slip below, by Wednesday 9th November.  Your child will automatically have a photograph taken with any brothers and/or sisters attending The Leverton Junior School.

Inappropriate Language

I have been dealing with a number of incidents recently regarding children using inappropriate language, especially of a sexual nature.  Please be careful what internet websites, television programmes, DVDs and computer games your child is exposed to.  Also, if you do hear your child repeating anything inappropriate, please reinforce that it is unacceptable.  I would appreciate your support in this matter.

Theatre Trip

The PTA is organising a theatre trip to see the evening performance of Shrek, the West End Musical, on Thursday 9 February 2012.  The cost is £29.50 per child or adult, for best seats, including coach travel from school.  A flyer has been sent out today giving full details.

Pupil Progress Meetings

Our Pupil Progress Meetings for parents will be spread over two days, Tuesday 8 November 2011 (3:30pm-6:00pm) and Thursday 10 November 2011(5:00pm- 7:30pm).

 

To enable appointments to be arranged, will you please complete the slip overleaf and return it to your child’s class teacher by Friday 4 November.  We will then do our best to give you interviews at appropriate times.

Spanish Club

Mrs May is starting a Spanish Club for any pupils at our school.  It will run every Monday morning between 8:15 and 8:45 in the school’s ICT suite.  The Club will be on Monday 7 November, Monday 14 November, Monday 21 November, Monday 28 November and Monday 5 December.  There is no cost for this club.

Dates for your diary

Mon 7 November                     Spanish Club (8:15-8:45)

Tues 8 November                     Pupil Progress Meetings

Thurs 10 November                 Pupil Progress Meetings

Thurs 10 November                 School Photos (includes siblings from Infant School)

Fri 11 November                      Year 6 Remembrance Assembly

Sun 20 November                    RNLI Reindeer Run

Fri 25 November                      Tag Rugby Tournament

Fri 25 November                      Stars in their Eyes

Tues 13 December                   Christmas Carol Concert (1:30pm)

Wed 14 December                   Christmas Dinner

Fri 16 December                      Break up from school

Tues 3 January 2012                Return to school

Fri 10 February                        Cross Country Competition

Fri 10 February                        Break up from school

Mon 20 February                     Return to school

Tues 13 March             IEP Meetings

Tues 13 March             Pupil Progress Meetings

Thurs 15 March                        Pupil Progress Meetings

Fri 30 March                            Break up from school

Mon 16 April                           Return to school

Mon 7 May                              Bank Holiday

Thurs 31 May                           Break up from school

Mon 11 June                            Return to school

Thurs 28 June                           Open Evening 5-7pm

Fri 29 June                               West Essex Olympics

Tues 3 July                               Sports Day 9:30am

Thurs 5 July                              Transition Day

Fri 6 July                                  Sports Day 9:30am (Reserve)

Wed 4 July                               District Sports (Field Events)

Wed 11 July                             District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 17 July                             Year 6 Play 2.00pm

Wed 18 July                             Year 6 Play 5.00pm

Fri 20 July 2012                       Break up from school