Newsletter 5 June 2015

Headteacher’s Comments

Welcome back after the half term.  I hope that you all had an enjoyable half term and refreshed for the final half term of this academic year.

Achievements

Well done to Tia Ali, Freddie Greyson, Lexi Sharman, Lily Moore (Mrs Campbell’s Class), Elsie Peck, Oliver Sharp, Isobelle Lepley, Nicholas Walker (Miss Gibbs’s Class), Tomas Sichel, Nathaniel Aderemi (Mrs Kaleel’s Class), Leah Hunn, Kerim Taylor-Salih, Evie Moss, Nilgun Halim, Michael Phipps (Miss Bektas’s Class), Tomor Troshupa, Myreon Keane, Samaya Kaleel and Kyla Erkan (Mrs Sach’s Class) who achieved Green Cards this week.

Attendance

Well done to Miss Bektas’s classes, who had the best attendance this week with 98%.

Government changes to attendance from September 2015

Earlier in the week I attended a course run by Essex’s Education Welfare Service.  They informed the headteachers present that from September 2015 a child with attendance under 90% (19 schools days, almost 4 weeks of term) will be classed as a persistent absentee.  At present 12 children have attendance that falls below 90%.  If your child’s attendance falls below 90% then an Educational Welfare Officer may be assigned to work with you to help improve your child’s attendance or a penalty notice may be issued.

 

As at present, a ‘Leave of Absence’ will only be approved if there are exceptional circumstances.  Taking a leave of absence that is not approved or taking a leave of absence without notifying the school may result in Essex County Council issuing a penalty notice.

Notice to Year 2 Parents

This is to inform you that as the Leverton Infant School is the main feeder school for the Junior School, by signing the register held in the Junior School, this guarantees your child a place at the Junior School.  I will be writing to all parents next week informing them of transition arrangements and who their child’s class teacher will be.

Dates for your diary

Wednesday 17 June                             Small Group Visit to Copped Hall

Tuesday 23 June                                  District Sports (Field Events)

Tuesday 23 June                                  Open Evening (5-7pm)

Friday 26 June                                     Transition Day

Tuesday 30 June                                  District Sports (Track Events)

Wednesday 1 July                               Year 6 Residential

Thursday 2 July                                               Year 6 Residential

Friday 3 July                                        Year 6 Residential

Tuesday 7 July                                                Sports Day (9am)

Thursday 9 July                                               Reserve Sports Day (9am)

Friday 10 July                                      Swimming Gala

Wednesday 15 July                             Full Governing Body Meeting

Friday 17 July                                      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Tuesday 1 September                          INSET Day

Wednesday 2 September                     INSET Day

Thursday 3 September                         Children return

Friday 23 October                                Break up from School

Monday 2 November                           INSET Day

Tuesday 3 November                          Children return

Friday 18 December                            Break up from school

2016

Monday 4 January                               Children return

Thursday 11 February                         Break up from school

Friday 12 February                              INSET Day

Monday 22 February                           Children return

Thursday 24 March                             Break up from school

Monday 11 April                                 Children return

Thursday 26 May                                Break up from school

Monday 6 June                                                Children return

Wednesday 17 July                             Break up from school