Newsletter: 6 May 2011

Headteacher’s Comments

I could get used to these long weekends.  I am a bit nervous as I not sure how I will cope with having to work for the full 5 days next week!

Classes have been busy launching this term’s themes.  Year 3 are starting their topic on the Olympic Games, Year 4 are studying India, Year 5 are contrasting Waltham Abbey with Hastings and Year 6 (after SATs) will be launching their topic on Shakespeare.

Achievements

Tommy Watson (Mrs Sach’s Class) took Percy home over the weekend.  Natalia (Miss Gibb’s class) visited me this week because she has been working extremely hard in her maths lessons.  Megan Woodward (Mrs Chapman’s Class) also visited me this week because she had been rewarded a Green Card for completing some extra homework about the Royal Wedding.  Albie Paris (Miss Gordon/ Mrs Tsyterman’s Class) is the latest year three child to learn all of his times tables and start learning his platinum awards.  I have also had visits from another 10 children too.  Well done to everyone!

Attendance

The class with the best attendance last week was Miss Smith’s with 100%.

Dinner money

This is just a reminder that school dinners now cost £1.90 per day, £9.50 for all week.

School Website

The school website has been suffering problems recently.  Everything is now working.  Stay updated by visiting www.lps.myschools.net.  I also post a copy of the newsletter up on the website.

Come Dine with Me

Those of you watching TV on the day of the Royal Wedding may have spotted a familiar face on our screens.  Isaac and Rebecca Hamilton’s mum hosted a street party and won the competition.  Congratulations!

Mr Woollcott’s 10km Run

Thank you to all who have sponsored me.  Training is progressing and I am hoping to do a trial 10km run on Monday.  There is still time to sponsor me, just return the slip at the bottom of the page or visit www.justgiving.com/neil-woollcott.

Year 6 SATs

Good luck to all the year six pupils who are sitting their SATs next week.  Early to bed and a good breakfast will ensure that everyone is alert for the week ahead.

Whole School trip

You should have received details about the whole school trip to The Tower of London on Wednesday 25 May.  Please return the slip and payment of £10 as quickly as possible.  If you have any questions or have problems with paying, please come and speak with me.

Dates for your diary

Mon 9 May to 12 May Year 6 SAT Tests

Sun 15 May                             Mr Woollcott’s 10km run

Tues 17 May                            Coffee Morning for Year 3 Parents 9:00am in Dining Room

Wed 18 May                            Coffee Morning for Year 4 Parents 9:00am in Dining Room

Thurs 19 May                           Coffee Morning for Year 5 Parents 9:00am in Dining Room

Fri 20 May                               Coffee Morning for Year 6 Parents 9:00am in Dining Room

Mon 23 May                            Fundraising Fashion Show

Wed 25 May                            Whole School Trip to the ‘Tower of London’ 8:30am to 5:00pm

Fri 27 May                               No School- INSET day

Mon 30 May- Fri 3 June          Half Term

Mon 6 June                              Back to School

Tuesday 21 June                       Open Evening 5-7pm

Fri 24 June                               Transition day (Children meet their new class teacher)

Mon 27 June                            Sports Day (if fine) 9:30am

Fri 1 July                                  Sports day (Reserve) 9:30am

Mon 11 July- Tues 12 July        Year 6 Residential

Tues 19 July                             Year 6 End of Year Production (2pm)

Wed 20 July                             Year 6 End of Year Production (5pm)

Thurs 21 July                            Last day of term