Newsletter: 9 May 2014

Headteacher’s Comments

As you know OFSTED was inspecting the school today and yesterday.  Thank you to all the parents who contributed to the process, whether by submitting their views on Parent View or speaking to the Inspectors before and after school.  As soon as the report is published, every parent will receive a copy of it.

Achievements

Well done to Sarah Giambanco, Samaya Kaleel, Rhys Brown, Connor Dunkin, Alfie Willis (Mr Davey’s Class), Kyla Erkan (Mrs Sach’s Class), Fatma Celik (Mrs Haslehurst’s Class) who received Green Cards this week.

 

Attendance

Well done to Mrs Watson’s class who had the best attendance this week with 99.4%.

Club Español (8:15am)

The dates for Spanish Club this term are 12 and 19 May and 2, 9 and 16 June.  The club is based in the ICT suite and starts at 8:15am.

Year 6 SATs (12- 16 May 2014)

I would like to wish Year 6 good luck with their end of Key Stage Two Tests (SATs) next week.  I would like to ask parents to ensure that their children have early nights so they are fully rested, eat breakfast in the morning and are in school on time.

Inflatable Day (Thurs 22 May 3:15pm)

This is a reminder that the PTA are organising another Inflatable Day on Thursday 22 May.  Details will follow next week.  If there are any parents who are able to help out to man an inflatable, please speak to a member of the PTA.

 

Netball Results

Well done to our two netball teams who recently played in the Netball Rally.  The A Team came 8th out of 12 and the B Team came 3rd out of 11.  Netball practice continues on a Monday and Tuesday evening throughout the summer term.

 

Maths Challenge:

Can you solve the Tricky part of the maths challenge?  Squared paper is available from the Maths Challenge board.  Please remember to write your name and class on your entries!

Tricky:

Penta people, the Pentigles, always build their houses from five square rooms on one level – ground level.

The houses can be designed in a variety of shapes, but a room must be joined to at least one other room by one wall.

There are many different ways that you can arrange the five rooms.

 

Here is a design drawing for a Penta house, a view from above.          

Here is another one:

 

Try to find all possible shapes the Pentigles can build their homes before moving on to the trickier and trickiest challenges.

 

Trickier:

New homes are being built in Penta Place.  The homes are built right next to each other and are arranged and fitted together to create rectangles.  Find three of the Penta house shapes that you created and fit them together to form a 3X5 rectangle like this one.

 

Trickiest:

Are you able to find four of the Pentigles’ house shapes to make a larger rectangle like this?

 

Times tables competition:

Mrs Zaghlul is running a competition to design a new gold level certificate for times table club.  All entries to be on A4 paper, they can be designed on the computer or hand drawn.  All entries to be handed to Mrs Zaghlul during lunch time times table club by Wednesday 21st May.  Please ensure your name and class are written on the reverse of your entry.  Winners will be announced in assembly at the end of half term.

Dates for your diary

Mon 12 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Mon 12 May                           Spanish Club (8:15am)

Tues 13 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Wed 14 May                           Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Thurs 15 May                          Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Fri 16 May                              Year 6 Key Stage Tests

Mon 19 May                           Spanish Club (8:15am)

Tues 20 May                           Whole School Trip (8:15am)

Thurs 22 May                          Inflatable Day (3:15-7pm)

Thurs 22 May                          Break up from school (3:15pm)

Mon 2 June                             Spanish Club (8:15am)

Mon 2 June                             Return to school (8:45am)

Mon 12 May                           Spanish Club (8:15am)

Mon 9 June                             Spanish Club (8:15am)

Mon 16 June                           Spanish Club (8:15am)

Tues 24 June                           Open Evening (5-7pm)

Fri 27 June                              Transition Day (All Years)

Fri 27 June                              Circus (4:30pm and 6:30pm)

Mon- July- Wed 9 July           Year 6 Residential

Wed 9 July                              District Sports (Track Events)

Tues 22 July                            Break up from school (3:15pm)

Wednesday 3 September        Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 24 October                   Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 3 November              Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 19 December               Break up from school (3:15pm)

2015

Monday 5 January                   Return to school (8:45am)

Thursday 12 February             Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 23 February               Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 27 March                      Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 13 April                     Return to school (8:45am)

Thursday 21 May                    Break up from school (3:15pm)

Monday 1 June                                    Return to school (8:45am)

Friday 17 July                          Break up from school (3:15pm)